• You cannot reply to this topic

Path Bug Going off into Emergency Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   charland 

• Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Simulator:MSTS/OR

Posted 10 June 2014 - 06:23 AM

Hi All,

Must admit I'm pretty new to Open Rails and for the most part like what I'm seeing... thanks.

I'm using X2194, the one that's currently up on the website.

After running a few light engines and trains that were already assembled I've been trying to run a train where the activity starts by picking up your power at the shops and then picking up your train in the yard. It's a way freight, so there is always a few different ways to switch the cars around and at the end of the run have completed all your work, so in MSTS I've always just made the path long enough to get the train started but left the rest up to the operator. In other route I'd found it hard to read the person's mind who created the activity and if I didn't follow his path, I'd never finish the work order according to the game.

This morning I finally figured out that for some reason all the handbrakes are set on the train I'm picking up that's sitting in a flat yard... just glad it was only a dozen cars long. I finally got it moving only to have the emergency brake applied once I left the path... really?

Think this logic needs some work or some explanation for people creating activities. Is there a way to override this?

Paul :-)

#2 User is offline   roeter 

• Vice President

Posted 10 June 2014 - 06:54 AM

If you want to run your train off it's path, e.g. for shunt duties, you have to switch to manual mode (CTRL-M).
It's all extensively explained in the OR manual.

Regards,
Rob Roeterdink

#3 User is offline   charland 

• Vice President

Posted 10 June 2014 - 07:13 AM

Hi Ron,