Elvas Tower: Debate: Distribution methods: zip files vs installers vs ? - Elvas Tower

• 8 Pages +
  • « First
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Debate: Distribution methods: zip files vs installers vs ? Rate Topic: -----

#71 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

• Owner Emeritus and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 20 December 2023 - 05:26 PM

View Postrailguy, on 19 December 2023 - 05:39 PM, said:

I've been using junction links in OpenRails for a couple of years now with no significant issues.

So have I except I've migrated to the link variant called symbolic link. I had a reason at the time but I do not now recall what it was.

At present I have 11 mini-routes, 3 or 4 era specific mini-routes for each of 4 US geographical areas. I use them mostly to segregate rolling stock by era (e.g., wood boxcars and steam locomotives in the early era but not in the modern one). I also have a master directory for all installed routes and I use symbolic links from there into the mini-routes. This allows me to have multiple occurrences of a route covering more than one era. If I really need to add era specific differences in shapes and their textures I'll make a special copy of the route in the master library leaving renaming the directories I whose content I will alter and add new directories in the mini-route using the proper names. Copy what I want from the renamed folders into the ones and off to editing.