• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Cars and Xings car/truck paths Rate Topic: -----

#21 User is offline   eric from trainsim 

• Waste Disposal Engineer
  • Group: Private - Open Rails Developer
  • Simulator:ORTS

Posted 11 July 2017 - 05:24 AM

Paul and Rick, I think you guys are missing the point that others are trying to make but not stating as clearly:

Does it make sense to have new software create a workaround to accommodate a workaround to accommodate flaws in old software?

I'm sure there are dozens of routes where it was used, but hundreds sounds just a bit hyperbolic. I've been building routes for 10+ years, and have never used that technique to "fix" crossings.

We're lucky the developers found a fast solution, but also consider that your fix comes at a cost -- there's now additional CPU time needed in the name of backward compatibility. It might be tiny, but it all adds up.

If there were a switch or option to disable all of the various backward compatibility workaround fixes, maybe I'd be a little more supportive of creating workarounds for workarounds within OR...

#22 User is offline   charland 

• Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Simulator:MSTS/OR

Posted 11 July 2017 - 05:54 AM

I think the point Rick and I were trying to make is OR can do both, and as of this morning there is a patch out that does just that, it let's vehicles hop over crossings that were not made correctly, and ignores any tracks used to keep cars away from the tracks and not dip down to the lower track level. This was discussed on the weekend and a solution was suggested by James Ross, and now the patch is out so that's where the discussion should have ended. For some reason someone decided to make an issue of it even after the solution was out, not sure why.