Elvas Tower: ORTS sound triggers, variables - Elvas Tower

• 9 Pages +
  • « First
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

ORTS sound triggers, variables and the future of OR sound management. Rate Topic: -----

#41 User is offline   railguy 

• Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 13 November 2015 - 07:21 AM

It definitely would involve some programming challenges (I freely admit that I am NOT a programmer). I was thinking along these lines of having something like this in the stream definition:

TimeOfDay (1) - example, 0=ignore, 1=day, 2= night 3=day and night.

Season (1) - example, 0=ignore, 1=summer, 2=autumn, 3=winter, 4=spring. One could do additional definitions for combinations of seasons, for example, 5=summer and autumn, 6=autumn and winter, etc.

Precipitation (1) - example 0=ignore, 1=clear, 2=rain, 3=snow

As OR has done in some other parameters, having the program invoke the parameters when they are present, but fall back to MSTS default if they are not would allow both legacy MSTS streams and modified OR streams to run.

So, in my frog example, if one only wanted the frog sound in the summer at night in clear weather, the SMS stream could be coded thus:

TimeOfDay (2)
Season (1)
Precipitation (1)

Then, if one wished to use the same sound source for a meadowlark chirping in on a clear summer day, the stream could be coded thus:

TimeOfDay (1)
Season (1)
Precipitation (1)

And, for the same sound source to have a blustery winter wind blowing from the same sound source, one could code a stream like this:

TimeOfDay (0)
Season (3)
Precipitation (0)

Like the MSTS headlight function, one could only code the parameters that one needed to "filter the stream." In the above example, for the winter wind, one could just code the Season (3) parameter without worrying about the others.

Just some more food for thought. Thanks.

#42 User is offline   disc 

• Foreman Of Engines