Adhesion and Drivers Rotating Backwards ? Steam Locomitives Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   scottb613 

• Vice President
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Simulator:ORTS

Posted 05 December 2014 - 05:43 AM

Hi Folks,

RE: Steam Locomotives

Have there been any major changes to adhesion model in Open Rails lately ? I've been away for a bit but I now notice that steam locomotives seem to have their drivers rotate backwards on start up (slippage ?) - before changing directions to rotate the direction they should... This seems new to me...

In addition - I can't really get my drivers to truly slip anymore (I'm no expert) - I've tried decreasing the mass and increasing the power and nothing... From my limited experience watching some videos on YouTube - It seems that the engineer of large powerful steam locomotives is often fighting to keep slippage under control (example was an autumn run with possibly wet leaves on track)... It also seems that the sander in OR has little or no effect...

My recent upload to the ET library is the Heavy Mountain Bill Hobbs created the physics for... In MSTS - if I jam the throttle wide open - even on dry track - with a heavy load - the wheels slip... If I engage the sander - they stop... This behavior "seems" a little more realistic than what I am seeing in OR at the moment and I don't seem to be able to replicate this behavior in OR...

One other thing I've noticed - is that the train seems to have less power in OR... Do ENG files need to be tweaked to get matching performance in OR ???