• You cannot reply to this topic

How to reformat MSTS routes for OR? Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Peter M. 

• Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 10 December 2019 - 04:55 PM

Hi everyone.

I am new to the Train sim community, and Elvas Tower as well. I am using Open rails instead of MSTS, but there are several amazing MSTS routes I would like to run in Open Rails, specifically Don Karch's Colorado Midland route. I have made some attempts to reformat the file structure into the structure needed by Open Rails, but this is confusing to me as I don't really know what the purpose of each file is, and where it needs to be placed. Is there an easier way to reformat these routes?

Thanks,

Peter

#2 User is offline   ckawahara 

• Member since Nov. 2003
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Simulator:MSTS, OR

Posted 10 December 2019 - 05:09 PM

What doe you mean "reformat" the file structure. openrails can use the exact same folder and file structure as MSTS.

#3 User is offline   Peter M. 

• Apprentice

Posted 10 December 2019 - 05:28 PM

I noticed that when I had the full route, in what I thought to be MSTS structure, I added the folder with all the content to the content option in Open Rails. However, nothing showed up when I selected that route in the Open Rails window. I assumed that it was not showing up because it needed to be in the same file structure as my Open Rails only routes. Is this not the case?

Here is what one of my working routes files look like:

BNSF Scenic Route/
Global
Routes
Trains

Here is what the Colorado Midland Route looks like as downloaded:

Colorado Midland/
thirdPartyDocuments
ACTIVITIES
CONSISTS
ENVFILES
LO_TILES
PATHS
SERVICES
SHAPES
SOUNDS
TD
TERRTEX
TEXTURES
Traffic
WORLD
/Several other files such as tsection.dat/

Thanks,

Peter

#4 User is offline   Peter M. 

• Apprentice

Posted 10 December 2019 - 05:36 PM