Elvas Tower: Train Shadow - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Train Shadow Shadow casted by train on the ground Rate Topic: -----

#11 User is online   Jovet 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,249
  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha, Nebraska.
  • Simulator:MSTS/Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 17 October 2017 - 03:03 PM

Which version or build of Open Rails are you using, Aimaar?

#12 User is offline   Aimaar 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Switchman
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 17-November 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:ORTS / MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 18 October 2017 - 08:28 PM

 Jovet, on 17 October 2017 - 03:03 PM, said:

Which version or build of Open Rails are you using, Aimaar?


x3847 to be exact

#13 User is offline   Eldorado.Railroad 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 982
  • Joined: 31-May 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 25 October 2017 - 11:46 AM

I have looked at this topic and thread.

I suggest you post much larger screen caps (at least 1024 pixels or better in width) and SPECIFICALLY identify what the source is...MSTS..OR...Train Sim xxxx...etc.

The first OR image seems to have rather bad gamma (google it). It looks VERY bright, and as such shadows will be very "bright" as well. I suggest that you start looking at your setup first, that means brightness/contrast and gamma.

There are ways of "improving" dynamic shadows without recompiling the code, but beware, the better the shadows the better your desktop needs to be to handle the additional computation/memory needs. This INCLUDES your video card. The information on what your hardware setup is rather sparse. Recognize that any changes that are made to improve shadows involves some compromises, and some of those compromises may not be appealing to you at all.

Good luck!

#14 User is offline   Hamza97 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 606
  • Joined: 01-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 27 October 2017 - 04:33 AM

In content folder, there is .fx file called scenery shader. Where you will find something like this:
float4 PSImage(uniform bool ShaderModel3, uniform bool ClampTexCoords, in VERTEX_OUTPUT In) : COLOR0
{
	const float FullBrightness = 1.0;
	const float ShadowBrightness = 0.5;

	float4 Color = tex2D(Image, In.TexCoords.xy);
	if (ShaderModel3 && ClampTexCoords) {


To modify the shadow brightness, try playing around "ShadowBrightness" value. I have mine set to 0.3 andit looks good. There are several pixel shader function like the above one. Playinh around with their brightness setting may also help. :thumbup3:

#15 User is online   Jovet 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,249
  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha, Nebraska.
  • Simulator:MSTS/Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 27 October 2017 - 04:51 AM

 Hamza97, on 27 October 2017 - 04:33 AM, said:

In content folder, there is .fx file called scenery shader. Where you will find something like this:

I wonder if you're on to something there. His complaint is that train shadows and scenery shadows are different. They don't appear different on my build. But I am too lazy to try and see when those files were last updated. But I could download that build and compare the files...

#16 User is offline   Aimaar 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Switchman
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 17-November 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:ORTS / MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 29 October 2017 - 01:44 AM

Look at the attached image for an instance, The circled areas show the shadows of the tree objects which are on the other side of the consist. I would be worried if the tree casts a shadow through the train. The shadow of the train is very vague when compared to the tree's shadow. I hope I am clear now.
The shadow intensity should be same.

Attached thumbnail(s)

  • Attached Image: Shadow.jpg


#17 User is offline   Eldorado.Railroad 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 982
  • Joined: 31-May 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 29 October 2017 - 08:58 PM

 Jovet, on 27 October 2017 - 04:51 AM, said:

I wonder if you're on to something there.


Yes he is....BUT...and that is a big BUT...this is a can of worms to play around with. You can get lost for months in those .fx files. In the end you realize there is a compromise to be had, and it means having to move your .fx files that suit your tastes into EVERY OR release you test.

#18 User is offline   Eldorado.Railroad 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 982
  • Joined: 31-May 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 29 October 2017 - 09:06 PM

 Aimaar, on 29 October 2017 - 01:44 AM, said:

Look at the attached image for an instance, The circled areas show the shadows of the tree objects which are on the other side of the consist. I would be worried if the tree casts a shadow through the train. The shadow of the train is very vague when compared to the tree's shadow. I hope I am clear now.
The shadow intensity should be same.


Yes...thank you for the bigger images..off a laptop I assume?

Correct, the shadows are much more diluted for the train as opposed to the tree tops projected onto the same ground, this is a software design tradeoff. Please see my previous post for adding more information regarding the computer hardware you are using. Otherwise you will be wasting your/our time trying to get better shadows.

#19 User is offline   Aimaar 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Switchman
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 17-November 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:ORTS / MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 29 October 2017 - 11:02 PM

Nope, not a Lappy, Its just lower screen resolution to set to compensate FPS with full details enabled.

My build is An AMD Processor 8120 with ATI HD 6670 1 GB Graphics card and 8 GB of RAM

#20 User is offline   Eldorado.Railroad 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 982
  • Joined: 31-May 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 31 October 2017 - 03:09 PM

 Aimaar, on 29 October 2017 - 11:02 PM, said:

Nope, not a Lappy, Its just lower screen resolution to set to compensate FPS with full details enabled.

My build is An AMD Processor 8120 with ATI HD 6670 1 GB Graphics card and 8 GB of RAM


Please upload your Open Rails log file.

If you are already having to limit screen size to cope with lower FPS this is not a good sign.

  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users