ORTS new shape format??? Rate Topic: ****- 3 Votes

#311 User is offline   scottb613 

• Vice President
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Simulator:ORTS

Posted 26 February 2023 - 07:20 AM

Hi Folks,

Mipmaps are essential.

NVidia has free tools to handle all conversions to DDS - both as plugins for PS and PSP - and as command line tools for use in bat files or scripts. From what I gather both Gimp and Paint.net also handle DDS.

I've been using "nvDXT" command line tools for many years for both model textures and terrtex textures. TSRE doesn't add mipmaps when creating terrtex - so if you want to avoid Moire you need to add them in some other manner - I just convert them all to DDS while doing it. It works very well.

Nvidia "nvDXT" download:
https://developer.nv...y-texture-tools

I don't know if this would be any help - but - I did animate a test steam locomotive with "Bones". The "cyan" highlighted bone in the attached file will move all the other parts in the scene. Simply grab the highlighted bone and move it around to see the animation in action.

Blender Source - Bones:
Attached File  Pacific_BONES_.zip (414.08K)
Number of downloads: 78

Regards,
Scott

#312 User is offline   gpz 

• Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Simulator:OpenRails

Posted 26 February 2023 - 09:19 AM

I'm afraid I am speaking about bones in a different manner: in accordance to the "skinning". In skinning the "bones" can be used as joints to the skin. These types of bones are the ones supported in gltf, they are actually just nodes.

The concept of bones in accordance to animation and using them as constraining items doesn't exist in the gltf. Animation is saved into gltf as keyframes. So these bones are of great help in generating the keyframes, but the gltf will contain only the resulted keyframes eventually. Gltf is a runtime end-format, not a physical modelling tool.

#313 User is offline   scottb613 

• Vice President
  • Group: Status: First Class