Elvas Tower: Remote Control DPU units - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 20 Pages +
  • « First
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Remote Control DPU units Rate Topic: -----

#61 User is offline   Laci1959 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 622
  • Joined: 01-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Alföld
  • Country:

Posted 03 April 2021 - 07:43 AM

View Postjared2982, on 21 February 2020 - 08:10 AM, said:

I would propose a simplier key command for the controls.

SHIFT + W = Fence up or to the right if already up with more than one DP set
SHIFT + S = Fence to the left of down
SHIFT + D = Throttle up \ dynamic down
SHIFT + A = Throttle down \ dynamic up

The last two working similar to the combined control throttle handle that is available in OR now which allows the use of the A and D keys to move from throttle to dynamic braking. To me it seems like the controls would be very simple if set up this way.


Then is Cruise Control forgotten? Is that development over? It was these combinations that he used.

#62 User is offline   Johndeere 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Switchman
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 14-July 20
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 03 April 2021 - 11:10 AM

Bom dia muito obrigado, havendo progresso nos trabalhos compartilho com vocês. Muito obrigado

#63 User is offline   ATW 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 607
  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 30 August 2021 - 08:53 PM

Will this ever make the testing stages?

#64 User is offline   ATW 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 607
  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 30 August 2021 - 08:56 PM

View Postebnertra000, on 21 March 2020 - 08:01 AM, said:

Based on the engine number (UP 8581), I would guess it's an SD70ACe

Yep thats correct.

#65 User is offline   Diter258r 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Dispatcher
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 30-November 19
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
  • Simulator:open rails
  • Country:

Posted 26 October 2021 - 02:10 PM

any progress friends?

#66 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,525
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 27 October 2021 - 08:03 AM

Is cruise control used when running with DPU controls? Or is cruise control usually disabled in this case?

#67 User is offline   pschlik 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: 04-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:OR New Year MG
  • Country:

Posted 27 October 2021 - 03:10 PM

There are cruise control adjacent systems that function totally fine with distributed power, and according to the GEVO manual, even slow speed control still functions when the train has distributed power. However, the manual does say that (unlike standard slow speed control) the throttle only needs to be in notch 1 and the locomotive will automatically figure out how much power to use to maintain speed, even if more power is needed than notch 1. (Normally, I believe the slow speed control power will never exceed the current throttle setting.)

#68 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,525
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 28 October 2021 - 01:59 AM

Thanks.
Taking as reference figure 49 of the manual linked here http://www.elvastowe...post__p__175705 I understand that the vertical green lines define the locomotive groups as explained here http://www.elvastowe...post__p__175745 . But I don't see the "fence" displayed between front and back groups. Isn't it displayed? How does the train driver see where the fence is?

#69 User is online   superheatedsteam 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 356
  • Joined: 28-June 08
  • Location:Perth, WA
  • Country:

Posted 28 October 2021 - 03:14 AM

View PostCsantucci, on 28 October 2021 - 01:59 AM, said:

But I don't see the "fence" displayed between front and back groups. Isn't it displayed? How does the train driver see where the fence is?



The driver chooses when and where to put the fence up. Fence only required if you want to control the remote units independent of the lead loco controls. You can have more than 1 fence if you have more than one set of DPU units.

There is a DPU setup tutorial on youtube for the Run8 Simulator that may shed some more light on this.

https://www.youtube....h?v=bjj-A36bYeA
Setting Up Distributed Power Units (DPU) and Starting A Train On A Grade With DPUs

Cheers,

Marek.

#70 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,525
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 28 October 2021 - 05:33 AM

Thanks Marek,
so I learnt the following from the video:
1) the fence is shown with the green vertical bar on the monitor;
2) A, B, C and so on aren't single locomotives, but the leads of every set of DPU units. (I hope I'm right here)

What I don't understand is how to set up more than a fence. If I read the ES44DC manual I see that in figure 49 there are two fences shown. Hovewer in the manual only front and back group are defined, and there are only the Move to front and Move to back commands. What would be the sequence to generate more than one fence, if you can only move DPU sets from front to back or vice-versa?

  • 20 Pages +
  • « First
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users