• You cannot reply to this topic

Berlin subway Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Sven 

• Hostler
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Simulator:Aerosoft

Posted 18 April 2014 - 09:31 AM

Hi
Does anyone have experience running Berlin subway (an MSTS add-on) in ORTS? I cannot find the proper folder for OR so that it can find the routes.

Regards

Sven

#2 User is offline   Lutz_s 

• Fireman
  • Simulator:MSTS

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:40 AM

Hi Sven,

i have no experiences running Berlin Subway, but yesterday i've tried to run "Linie 51, the golden twentys of Berlin", another route from TML Studios. It was a desaster. Everything i could see was grey fog. Only a few track shapes were showing and the inside of the cab. Everything else was invisble. I think TML made so many changes to the MSTS lightning model that Openrails simply can't show it. As much as i know, Berlin Subway is using (nearly) the same lightning model. So it is possible, that you won't see anything either.

If you want to try it: Make a backup of your MSTS folder and install Berlin Subway. Berlin Subway will restore an original train simulator global folder by starting the game, so you will probably need your backup to turn back to your current configuration. After installing Berlin Subway copy Openrails to the MSTS folder. Then rename the train.exe and launcher.exe and copy openrails.exe to train.exe and to launcher.exe. Then start the Berlin Subway software and select an activity. Instead of MSTS now Openrails should start, where you select the activity and start the game. If you have more luck than i had, you will see your train, station or what else should be visible.

Best luck

Lutz

Edit: Explanation why you have to copy and rename openrails in the MSTS folder