Elvas Tower: F6 Display Intenisty - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

F6 Display Intenisty

#1 User is offline   dforrest 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 435
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Vincent (formally UK)
  • Simulator:MSTS, Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 27 October 2013 - 03:52 PM

One of the features in MSTS which I find very useful is the intensity of the Station (or other location) name given with the F6 key display, varying in intensity the closer the user is to the actual location, dim some distance from the location, gradually becoming intense as the location is reached, and dimming again as the location is passed.

Will this be implemented in OR?

-------------
David

#2 User is offline   captain_bazza 

  • Chairman, Board of Directors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 13,296
  • Joined: 21-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Way, way, way, South
  • Simulator:MSTS & OR
  • Country:

Posted 27 October 2013 - 05:19 PM

I have this feature activated in all my sims.....it's a switch listed under 'perils of old age'. :jawdrop2: "!!?"

Cheers Bazza :sorry2:


#3 User is offline   dforrest 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 435
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Vincent (formally UK)
  • Simulator:MSTS, Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 29 October 2013 - 05:03 AM

I can't find the "perils of old age" switch.

Can anyone else help?

#4 User is offline   hytek1999 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Switchman
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 16-October 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS; ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:09 AM

View Postdforrest, on 29 October 2013 - 05:03 AM, said:

I can't find the "perils of old age" switch.

Can anyone else help?


For me it's under the "astigmatism" option. But then I think it's different for everyone.

#5 User is offline   dforrest 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 435
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Vincent (formally UK)
  • Simulator:MSTS, Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 30 October 2013 - 08:03 AM

This was intended to be a serious request!

#6 User is offline   dforrest 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 435
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Vincent (formally UK)
  • Simulator:MSTS, Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 10 December 2014 - 07:08 AM

View Postdforrest, on 27 October 2013 - 03:52 PM, said:

One of the features in MSTS which I find very useful is the intensity of the Station (or other location) name given with the F6 key display, varying in intensity the closer the user is to the actual location, dim some distance from the location, gradually becoming intense as the location is reached, and dimming again as the location is passed.

Will this be implemented in OR?



The attached screenshot gives and example of the erroneous information which can be given if this is not done. "Hebron Platform" is the closest to the loco, less than a mile away. "Halfway Platform" is more than a mile on past "Hebron Platform". The route take a bend to the left over the brow of the hill.

--------------
David

#7 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Owner
  • Posts: 11,730
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 10 December 2014 - 10:59 AM

IMO there is lots of room for improvements with these sprites. Adjusting the brightness is, IMO, a good idea. I think the activity file should be enhanced in some way to allow you to record which sprites should be shown in that activity, the rest remaining invisible. There's no reason to show 40 sprites if only 4 make sense for the task.

Also, some thought should be given to the question of how far away is too far to display? In MSTS the answer was always the next tile over is ok. But now with OR being able to show 10,000m the rules of the game are changed. Is next tile only still the right answer? Is 10,000m the right answer. I don't know.

#8 User is offline   dforrest 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 435
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Vincent (formally UK)
  • Simulator:MSTS, Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 14 January 2017 - 09:18 AM

I raised this a few years ago and it was not taken particularly seriously.

I believe that this feature of MSTS should be replicated in OR. It makes navigation very much easier. Can the request be taken more seriously now?

#9 User is offline   Jovet 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,857
  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha, Nebraska.
  • Simulator:MSTS/Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 15 January 2017 - 12:10 AM

I am in support of this. It is not a feature I use very often, but actually yesterday I turned these labels on in an area and was confused at first by the labels far away that were showing up.

#10 User is online   timothyskinner 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18-September 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:msts
  • Country:

Posted 15 January 2017 - 03:11 AM

View PostJovet, on 15 January 2017 - 12:10 AM, said:

I am in support of this. It is not a feature I use very often, but actually yesterday I turned these labels on in an area and was confused at first by the labels far away that were showing up.

Feature would help enhance night activities... especially in narrow gauge, high density routes where you get a forest of overlapping signs... no pun intended

  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users