Elvas Tower: Limit of number of directories in the trainset - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Limit of number of directories in the trainset Rate Topic: -----

#11 User is offline   cr-stagg 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 909
  • Joined: 16-May 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:OR
  • Country:

Posted 17 March 2021 - 11:10 AM

View PostWeter, on 17 March 2021 - 10:53 AM, said:

Then, what's the reason of empty lines of engine/consist list and why removing of some of them helps?
Though, I doubtly will return to MSTS. Deleting of *n.raw and *.raw tiles saves so much of disk space,


What empty lines? Where? MSTS, OR, MSTS CE, ConBuilder, TSRE-CE, Convoi, or _______?

#12 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner Emeritus and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 15,366
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 17 March 2021 - 11:15 AM

View PostWeter, on 17 March 2021 - 09:07 AM, said:

But, if each *.wag demands it's own *.s, calling different body texture and same bogie, couplers, etc, than its needed the same *.s files quantity, as *.wag.
The economy, this way, is only with common textures.


Open rails will load a texture file once only if multiple requests for that file are to the same directory, such as \textures. When you have identical textures scattered across many directories, such as the same file for couplers, each will be loaded. AFAIK, this doesn't apply to .s files, only texture files.

#13 User is offline   cr-stagg 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 909
  • Joined: 16-May 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:OR
  • Country:

Posted 17 March 2021 - 11:58 AM

View PostWeter, on 17 March 2021 - 11:21 AM, said:

@Charles
Empty lines: MSTS loads it's menu, I chose "drive a train" and at next page, where I must choose the route, locomotive, consist, weather, mode, etc.
The drop-down lists of engines and consists are empty.


MSTS's Unknown engine error. Case matters to MSTS. When the case of the letters are inconsistent in the Filename, either ot the two Wagon Lines or the Engine line then the MSTS displays a blank line. To MSTS DASH9 does not equal Dash9. (No problem to ORTS.)

Example: Blank line
ATSF-Funit-300.eng
Wagon ( ATSF-FUnit-300
;;;;
)
Engine ( ATSF-FUNIT-300
,,,,
Wagon ( ATSF-Funit-300 )
....
)

Example: No blank line
ATSF-Funit-300.eng
Wagon ( ATSF-Funit-300
;;;;
)
Engine ( ATSF-Funit-300
,,,,
Wagon ( ATSF-Funit-300 )
....
)

#14 User is offline   Weter 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 7,055
  • Joined: 01-June 20
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 17 March 2021 - 12:09 PM

Maybe cyrillic names inside *.eng files are the reason, then?

Oh, I understood: the all three names must be the same...
But, in my case, all lines were empty, like there are no trains installed atall.

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users