• You cannot reply to this topic

Basic locomotive modelling Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   CaPCaTiC 

• Apprentice
  • Pip
  • Group: Status: Fired
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 15 November 2020 - 08:12 AM

Hi all, I'm pretty new to the forums, and in fact this is my first time posting. I'm not sure if this is even the correct place to post this, but as I don't have access to the rest of the forums, this will have to do. I'm looking to start making content for OR, and I have some ideas in mind, but I don't even know where to start. I once tried making a locomotive for Trainz in Blender. It didn't go well, but I have a minimal understanding of the program. So my question to you is: how should I start my modelling endeavors? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

#2 User is offline   superheatedsteam 

• Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member

Posted 15 November 2020 - 10:04 AM

My first attempts didn't go well either but I kept on attempting until they did work. I still attempt things that fail but if I do more research and keep trying I finally get there.

On the assumption that you want to learn to use Blender and you don't want to pay for a structured course, I would initially suggest watching the first 15 videos in Blender Fundamentals 2.8. They are short videos that will show you how to get around blender and give you an overview of the handful of tools that you will end up using for mesh modelling.

First Steps - Blender 2.80 Fundamentals
https://www.youtube.....ksYnB0qL9yWDO6

Then start watching different absolute beginner tutorials on youtube. Don't worry if it doesn't all make sense at first. I found I had to come back to watch some parts again or come back later when other things started to make sense.

Once you are comfortable in blender adding boxes and cylinders into the scene and moving, scaling, rotating and editing them then try a 'real world' object.