Elvas Tower: Monogame - rendering issues... - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Monogame - rendering issues... Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   33lima 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Switchman
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 04-November 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 25 December 2017 - 12:16 PM

For the last month or so I've been using almost exclusively the Monogame version of OR (now on the MG version of 4018) due to smoother running at any given video settings, and reduced moiré effects on textures viewed at shallow angles. Since the fix to the 'flying saucer' snowflakes, the main downside has been some rendering issues I don't see in stock OR, namely some anomalies with shadows, notably seeing light and shade in tunnels in some (but not all) routes as if the tunnel itself cast no internal shadow, like this scene in EB's London South Coast - the Series, taken N of Brighton:

https://image.ibb.co/dFO9Zm/Open_Rails_2017_11_28_09_10_15.jpg

This is with Dymanic Shadows and Shadows for All Shapes both enabled in Options/Video, on an Nvidia GTS 250 with 341.92 drivers.

Also, the central buffer beam/valence texture on all the General Motors diesels in MT's Irish Enterprise North looks like this in MG...

https://image.ibb.co/f6rxS6/Open_Rails_2017_12_17_10_37_26.jpg

...when it should look like this:

https://image.ibb.co/fzzvEm/Open_Rails_2017_12_17_10_40_29.jpg

Rain in MG seems to be rendered as white streaks, while in stock it's dark, so maybe these things are to be expected. Is anyone else getting such issues, or tried any fixes?

#2 User is offline   slipperman 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 559
  • Joined: 09-February 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Nottinghamshire
  • Simulator:MSTS & ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 25 December 2017 - 01:00 PM

Hi,
I note you're using an NVIDIA GTS 250 with v341.92 drivers.

I wonder if these are causing your problems?

The graphics card is very old (as graphics cards go) - maybe it can't support all the MonoGame options - and the drivers you mentioned are not specified to work with Win 10 - you should be using v341.74 (dated 29 July 2015)

Cheers,
Ged

#3 User is offline   33lima 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Switchman
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 04-November 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 25 December 2017 - 03:39 PM

Hi Ged

Windows Ten? I'm still on Vista 64, my main box of tricks being even older than its GFX card - that was an upgrade!!!

Ivor

#4 User is offline   slipperman 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 559
  • Joined: 09-February 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Nottinghamshire
  • Simulator:MSTS & ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 26 December 2017 - 03:12 AM

Hi Ivor,
My apologies :sign_oops:
For some reason, I thought you were using Win 10! However, my comment regarding the model of card still stands and, maybe, should be investigated.

Cheers,
Ged

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users