• « First
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

ORTS new shape format??? Rate Topic: ****- 3 Votes

#351 User is offline   superheatedsteam 

• Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member

Posted 23 December 2023 - 01:42 AM

Firstly my standard disclaimer that I'm self taught, I'm not an expert but this is what I did to export a glTF locomotive model that works in the unstable version of OR. The PBR side is considerably more involved and something I am still in the process of learning and applying to this model. I have only applied roughness and metallic maps to this model so far but the procedures to apply the others is similar.

I have posted it before and I will keep posting the following link to a series of videos on how to export a glTF model from Blender.

https://www.youtube....d_S3oSmdRcEiKCp

It provides insights into the format beyond just the workflow. I have watched a number of other Blender/glTF videos as well in order so see a variety of techniques and find the ones that I need to get the results I want for my models.

The Blender help page on glTF is also a valuable resource.

https://docs.blender...cene_gltf2.html

The more you know about glTF and PBR the better placed you will be to achieve the results you want in your model.

The export to glTF from Blender is very much like exporting to .S.