• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

world model problem Introduction Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Lindsayts 

• Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member

Posted 30 August 2014 - 01:57 PM

This is the first of a series of posts on how to get an accurate world model in a train sim. Now I am not an expert in anyway on cartography and before this new little about the subject, but the following is the summary of much research as I will not let lack of knowledge be the cause of a project to fail.

The rest of the posts will be in the Physics, railways forum.

The projection to do the terrain generation is Transverse Mercator,TM, this was choosen as all high detail maps use Universal Transverse Mercator, UTM, this being a particular case of the more general TM. The mathematics being exactly the same.

TM itself produces a strip of terrain of any length North South, but in the East West direction is limited by scale distortion. The scale in TM being constant in a North South direction but varies in an East West direction. Some idea though on the accuracy expected is the if a scale factor of 0.9994 is used during terrain generation. The East West scale will not deviate by more than 0.04% at distance on aprox 250 kilometres either side of the reference longitude, so a route considerable wider than that could be done in real life. My own work consistently shows the distances as modeled by this model are VERY accurate, in fact I found its almost impossible for long distances on the real earth to be measured with an accuracy equal to the model.