• You cannot reply to this topic

OR Forests Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   charland 

• Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Simulator:MSTS/OR

Posted 18 April 2014 - 05:22 AM

Morning All,

After seeing a couple of shots Shawn posted that he took in OR the other day and seeing his question about forests now being pushed back from the track a bit too much I've been thinking about what should be done about that.

While creating the original DAR route it was brought to my attention that while forested were working fine in MSTS the same forest regions may or may not be planting trees in the middle of roads or in buildings. At the time OR was in it's infancy and not being a programmer myself I thought it was something that would eventually be corrected... well, turned out to be a bit more then that and finding the exact same algorithm that Microsoft used for their forests is pretty much impossible.

When placing houses along rural roads it's much easier to place a sparse forest along a stretch of road, then place a few houses in between the trees, the DAR route id full of areas that were created this way. It's easily done in MSTS because you can see what the result is going to be as you place things, but have no idea what it would look like in OR. It's going to stay that way until OR comes up with their own editing suite and people can start building route in OR and not have to use MSTS again.

I'm thinking it would be much better if OR went back to putting trees in the forest region boundary box and not automatically moving the box away from the right of way. Trees do grow next to the track and is some instances grow over the tracks (plenty of places where the trees are cut away from the tracks at ground level but the canopy covers the tracks fifty or sixty feet about.