Elvas Tower: Scriptable train control system - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Posting Rules

All new threads will be started by members of the Open Rails team, Staff, and/or Admins. Existing threads started in other forums may get moved here when it makes sense to do so.

Once a thread is started any member may post replies to it.
  • 32 Pages +
  • « First
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Scriptable train control system Rate Topic: -----

#291 User is offline   gpz 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,772
  • Joined: 27-October 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest
  • Simulator:OpenRails
  • Country:

Posted 30 May 2014 - 05:46 AM

Serana is right, the lower part is the next (target) speed limit. Please see the track monitor: there will be a 45 mph speed decrease in 0.2 miles ahead. The upper part at 85 mph is the actually permitted speed. If the actual speed would be above the target speed, and we are too close to the restriction, the needle and the white gauge-part becomes yellow. At real overspeed the whole thing becomes orange, and at intervention red.

This functionality can be implemented for the default MSTSTrainControlSystem as well, in fact it is mostly implemented in my patch already.

#292 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 7,010
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 30 May 2014 - 11:42 AM

This is how we have to do it now for the ETR500 Frecciarossa high speed train:
Attached Image: Open Rails 2014-05-30 09-33-29.jpg

Peter, I would be very happy if your ETCS gauge could be easily inserted in existing 2D (and later 3D) cabs, maybe simply editing the .cvf file or not with much more difficulty.
We have here at least three different trainset types that use this gauge.

#293 User is offline   gpz 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,772
  • Joined: 27-October 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest
  • Simulator:OpenRails
  • Country:

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:16 AM

I have committed the experimental circular speed gauge as r2307.
Currently it can be used both as window control and cabview control, it might turn out in the future which one is more useful.

It can be inserted into the track monitor e.g. with this (really) primitive patch: Attached File  0001-TrackMonitor.zip (1.48K)
Number of downloads: 647

It can be shown in cab with the following configuration:
        Digital (
			Type ( SPEEDOMETER DIGITAL )
                        Style ( NEEDLE )
			Position ( 160 255 56 56 )
			ScaleRange ( 0 250 )
			Units ( KM_PER_HOUR )
        )


#294 User is offline   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,491
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 11 June 2014 - 03:51 AM

View Postgpz, on 10 June 2014 - 11:16 AM, said:

I have committed the experimental circular speed gauge as r2307.
Currently it can be used both as window control and cabview control, it might turn out in the future which one is more useful.

It can be inserted into the track monitor e.g. with this (really) primitive patch: Attachment 0001-TrackMonitor.zip

It can be shown in cab with the following configuration:
        Digital (
			Type ( SPEEDOMETER DIGITAL )
                        Style ( NEEDLE )
			Position ( 160 255 56 56 )
			ScaleRange ( 0 250 )
			Units ( KM_PER_HOUR )
        )



I would strongly suggest making the trigger something that clearly identifies it as experimental. It's not even clear what triggers it here, but I guess it is Style(NEEDLE)? If so, I'd suggest something like Style(ORTS_NEEDLE) or Style(EXPERIMENTAL_NEEDLE). I'm not happy with "normal" looking data triggering experimental code without an experimental option.

#295 User is offline   Serana 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 489
  • Joined: 21-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St Cyr l'Ecole (France)
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 11 June 2014 - 04:14 AM

Or even better : Style ( ETCS )

And the trigger conditions are in these parameters :
Type ( SPEEDOMETER DIGITAL )
Style ( NEEDLE )

Both conditions are needed : the first one leads OR to use CVCDigital, the other one selects the ETCS speed indicator renderer for the CVCDigital object.

#296 User is offline   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,491
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 11 June 2014 - 04:31 AM

View PostSerana, on 11 June 2014 - 04:14 AM, said:

Or even better : Style ( ETCS )

And the trigger conditions are in these parameters :
Type ( SPEEDOMETER DIGITAL )
Style ( NEEDLE )

Both conditions are needed : the first one leads OR to use CVCDigital, the other one selects the ETCS speed indicator renderer for the CVCDigital object.


Ah, that makes more sense. I'd still like either one of the values to be clearly ORTS/experimental or this to have an experimental option that's off by default.

#297 User is offline   gpz 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,772
  • Joined: 27-October 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest
  • Simulator:OpenRails
  • Country:

Posted 11 June 2014 - 04:58 AM

It's okay, it can be changed. I just couldn't decide how to proceed with this definition. The drawback of the method of using a dedicated Style() for that is that it makes changes to MSTS.Formats/CVFFile.cs to be necessary, and by Carlo's researches a new Style() definition unknown to MSTS will make that crash, thus the cvf file incompatible. While in this way it doesn't harm anything.

#298 User is offline   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,491
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 11 June 2014 - 04:59 AM

View Postgpz, on 11 June 2014 - 04:58 AM, said:

It's okay, it can be changed. I just couldn't decide how to proceed with this definition. The drawback of the method of using a dedicated Style() for that is that it makes changes to MSTS.Formats/CVFFile.cs to be necessary, and by Carlo's researches a new Style() definition unknown to MSTS will make that crash, thus the cvf file incompatible. While in this way it doesn't harm anything.


So take the alternative I suggested and add an experimental option in OR to enable this feature.

#299 User is offline   Serana 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 489
  • Joined: 21-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St Cyr l'Ecole (France)
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 11 June 2014 - 05:10 AM

Is there an ORTSCabview option in the ENG files that will allow OR to load OR-specific cabview controls ?

That way, for locomotives that will be compatible with both simulators, you will have a MSTS CVF file and an OR CVF file.

#300 User is offline   gpz 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,772
  • Joined: 27-October 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest
  • Simulator:OpenRails
  • Country:

Posted 11 June 2014 - 05:19 AM

View PostJames Ross, on 11 June 2014 - 04:59 AM, said:

So take the alternative I suggested and add an experimental option in OR to enable this feature.

Even if I add an experimental option, the problem I described still persists. And if I leave everything as is, just add an option, that will not make the data look more unnormal. So that doesn't solve anything, just adds one more step.

  • 32 Pages +
  • « First
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users