Elvas Tower: Tweaking OR graphics - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Tweaking OR graphics Do I add OpenRails.exe or RunActivity.exe ? Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   cvo2010 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 813
  • Joined: 04-June 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:None
  • Country:

Posted 27 January 2014 - 07:52 AM

Hi :D,

I have a question about what exe.file to add to Nvidia Inspector, the NVidia control panel and other graphics injectors.

According to the Readme.txt (the text below)included in the Executable binaries - OR_X.zip, it's the OPENRAILS.EXE program

"GRAPHICS QUALITY
Note that Open Rails isn't registered with NVidia or ATI so it will run with global settings by default.
For best image quality customize
the graphics settings in your video card control panel. If you are
setting up a program-specific custom setting, it's the OPENRAILS.EXE program
in the ORTS folder that you must select."

I haven't been able to change much, if anything, using the OPENRAILS.EXE program. Instead I have to use the RunActivity.exe, and when using that exe.file, I can make the changes I want.
Is this a glitch on my system, or is there other OR users, which have had the same experience ?.

Regards Claus

#2 User is offline   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,238
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 27 January 2014 - 08:10 AM

Seems that information is out of date. OpenRails.exe is the launcher - it just checks for XNA and other key components. You definitely want RunActivity.exe in most cases.

#3 User is offline   cvo2010 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 813
  • Joined: 04-June 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:None
  • Country:

Posted 27 January 2014 - 09:18 AM

Thank you James :D.

Regards Claus

#4 User is offline   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,238
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 28 January 2014 - 01:46 AM

In my experience, the main things that are useful to tweak are anti-aliasing settings and anisotropic filtering, both of which can visually improve things when enabled.

#5 User is offline   rdamurphy 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Private - Open Rails Developer
  • Posts: 1,199
  • Joined: 04-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thornton, CO
  • Simulator:MSTS - OR
  • Country:

Posted 28 January 2014 - 06:40 AM

View PostWalter Conklin, on 27 January 2014 - 12:04 PM, said:

Hi Claus,

Thank you for bringing to my attention that OR and Nividia users could use NVidia Inspector and the NVidia Control panel to tweak the graphics for OR.
Just curious - What is/are the advantage(s) of creating a Nividia profile for OR? I assume that profile is the right term.


You can also do the same thing in AMD's Catalyst Control Center.

Robert

#6 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,195
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 28 January 2014 - 02:28 PM

View PostJames Ross, on 27 January 2014 - 08:10 AM, said:

Seems that information is out of date. OpenRails.exe is the launcher - it just checks for XNA and other key components. You definitely want RunActivity.exe in most cases.

I've updated the information and committed it now.

#7 User is offline   cvo2010 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 813
  • Joined: 04-June 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:None
  • Country:

Posted 28 January 2014 - 02:54 PM

View PostWalter Conklin, on 28 January 2014 - 10:16 AM, said:

Hello again,

I created a Nividia profile for my OR setup. I set the antialisling, anisotropic, and other options to the highest levels. After changing the settings, I did not see any conspicuous, visual improvements.


Hi Walter,

What screen resolution are you using, and which NVidia card do you have, the model number.
Knowing this makes it easier to recommend some setting, because overriding the in-game settings to much, will stress your video card.

Regards Claus

#8 User is offline   timmuir 

  • Member since Nov. 2003
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 8,192
  • Joined: 22-November 03
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Somewhere on the Beautiful Oregon Coast
  • Simulator:OR - TS2018
  • Country:

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:40 PM

View PostWalter Conklin, on 28 January 2014 - 10:16 AM, said:

Hello again,

I created a Nividia profile for my OR setup. I set the antialisling, anisotropic, and other options to the highest levels. After changing the settings, I did not see any conspicuous, visual improvements.

I'm also seeing no improvements with a similar high setting scenario profile with AMD Radeon's Catalyst Control Center (It should be called catatonic control center- worthless!) I'm getting ziggies and vertical clipping in the sim, not as smooth as with MSTS. However, the screen shots seem to look a little better than in the sim.

I have an AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series, Current Resolution, 1920x1200 pixels.

#9 User is offline   cvo2010 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 813
  • Joined: 04-June 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:None
  • Country:

Posted 28 January 2014 - 04:22 PM

View Posttimmuir, on 28 January 2014 - 03:40 PM, said:

I'm also seeing no improvements with a similar high setting scenario profile with AMD Radeon's Catalyst Control Center (It should be called catatonic control center- worthless!) I'm getting ziggies and vertical clipping in the sim, not as smooth as with MSTS. However, the screen shots seem to look a little better than in the sim.

I have an AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series, Current Resolution, 1920x1200 pixels.


Hi Walter and Tim,

You will both have to override certain program settings in your ATI/NVidia control panels, before seing the benefits of the 'fine tuning', and it's not done in five minuttes the first time you are playing with the setting.
On my system, I have no problems seing even the slightest change of the settings.

I still have a slight problem with anti-aliasing in OpenRails, but I can't remove it entirely, without screwing something up/creating a new problem.

A couple of quick shots from OR, and if you don't believe me (the shots being from OR, that is), believe the smoke :D.

http://imageshack.com/a/img39/5130/wg56.jpg

http://imageshack.com/a/img826/5855/vwrn.jpg

Regards Claus

#10 User is offline   R H Steele 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,688
  • Joined: 14-March 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:known universe
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 28 January 2014 - 11:23 PM

I have been using the RunActivity.exe -- would it be of any benefit to use RunActivityLAA.exe? I'm running XP with maximum ram allowed and a GE Force GTX 650Ti card.

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users