• You cannot reply to this topic

Future file types supported by OR? Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   stationmaster 

• Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Switchman
  • Simulator:OpR

Posted 26 September 2013 - 10:53 AM

Hello everyone!
I am quite new to OR and modeling etc. My profession is really software development, and I have done some years of C# programming.
At the moment I am more into the modeling side and I have done some tutorials with GMAX etc.
Now GMAX is not the best tool in the world, in todays standards, so I have also spent some time to learn Blender. And I must say, when you get used to the user interface it's a fantastic modeling tool.

Now to my problem, the file types supported in OR. I have understood that so far OR only supports the MSTS file types, e.g. .s , .ace.
And non of these formats are supported by the modeling tools I would like to use, i.e. Blender and GIMP.

I read somewhere here on Elvas Tower that .dds was consider to complement .ace. Howabout other images filetypes, e.g. .png, .jpg?

And for the shape files. What do you think should be added here to complement .ace? .3DS?

Has any of this work started? Is someone interesting at working on this?

Ok, that's a lot of questions. Now lets hear your opinion.

Cheers,
//J

#2 User is online   James Ross 

• Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 26 September 2013 - 11:04 AM

View Poststationmaster, on 26 September 2013 - 10:53 AM, said:

Now to my problem, the file types supported in OR. I have understood that so far OR only supports the MSTS file types, e.g. .s , .ace.
And non of these formats are supported by the modeling tools I would like to use, i.e. Blender and GIMP.

I read somewhere here on Elvas Tower that .dds was consider to complement .ace. Howabout other images filetypes, e.g. .png, .jpg?

And for the shape files. What do you think should be added here to complement .ace? .3DS?