• You cannot reply to this topic

Tallahassee Sub - is it worth downloading? Rate Topic: -----

#21 User is offline   timothyskinner 

• Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Simulator:msts

Posted 23 September 2013 - 11:15 AM

So I should answer your question Falcus,

I was working on the Bay Line - "Baldwin" at TS was my partner in the enterprise.

B wanted a modern version with high accuracy of trackage, I wanted a "what might have been", or a "what was there at different times put together" as a "maximum". There were lumber based enterprises all over the area in the triangle between Pensacola, Dothan and Tallahassee. I was an activity writer and player so came from a different direction than B with his railroad background.

There were a series of branch lines off the main east-west between P and T - those shortlines had extraordinary histories.
There were many other logging enterprises off the lines running east and west from Dothan.
There were obvious possibilities of inter-connections for the loggers with the Central Georgia which were not taken.
The Bay Line itself ran north to south from Dothan to Panama City.

Timothy

#22 User is offline   timothyskinner 

• Conductor

Posted 23 September 2013 - 11:22 AM

Hi Markus,

Thank you for your kind welcome.
Yes, I have downloaded OpR and will see how I get on.

As a route builder I would very much like to know how much easier or quicker it is to lay track than MSTS... hahahahaa !
I certainly have to check it out and see what happens.
I know from experience that a MSTS route takes a year to do and that is just trackage, a minimum of scenery and a few buildings from the TS file library.
One thing I am very interested in is collaboaration in a project...

Timothy

#23 User is offline   timothyskinner 

• Conductor

Posted 23 September 2013 - 11:31 AM

Hi Gerry,

So, I have made my way back to your posts about OpR and the 91 routes that run on it...