• You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Unable to build from source Rate Topic: -----

#21 User is offline   BillC 

• Conductor
  • Group: Private - Open Rails Developer

Posted 18 December 2012 - 01:46 PM

View PostJames Ross, on 18 December 2012 - 01:32 PM, said:

I've had no trouble installing Visual Studio 2008 Professional on Windows 7 and Windows 8; I've been happily developing for OR on both versions of Windows. There must be more to this issue it seems, though I suspect this isn't the best forum to resolve it.

Also the professional version is not necessary, at least for Windows 7 32 bit. I use Visual Studio 2008 Express with no problems.

#22 User is offline   cjakeman 

• Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 18 December 2012 - 02:09 PM

View PostWalter Conklin, on 18 December 2012 - 04:53 AM, said:

I am not a programmer, but still a member of the OR team. Your correct in noting that Open Rails is not purely 100% open source.

The phrase "open source" is not used on the www.openrails.org site to refer to Open Rails. The home page explicitly states that "This program is not open source." and the topic of copyright is covered right at the top of the FAQ and in the webpage that leads to the SVN repository.

We couldn't be much clearer. I think there is a tendency to see "open" and then assume "open source".

#23 User is offline   wacampbell 

• Member since Nov. 2003
  • Group: Fan: Traction Nuts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 06:25 PM

I have just come back from travelling and am only now catching up. In way of introduction to the OP, I am the founder of Open Rails and am responsible for most of the policies in place. Its hugely frustrating to read the OP's post as absolutely none of it is true. My response below:

it wasn't really a source control system as one might expect?