• You cannot reply to this topic

New to contributing code Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   cjakeman 

• Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 14 June 2011 - 11:36 AM

Hi, today I (proudly) committed my first contribution to the Open Rails code. I signed up a while back, but was invited recently to try out.

It's a long time since anyone paid me to write programs, so it's good to keep my hand in and help out. It's a large system, but I was offered a fairly straightforward task and also a "mentor" to advise and encourage me (thanks, Jijun). I'm new to the SVN source code control and was pleased to find how easy that part was.

Now I'm hooked; I wonder what I'll be doing next ...

#2 User is offline   Noisemaker 

• Executive Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member

Posted 16 June 2011 - 09:39 AM

Sounds like you know your stuff. ;) My big hope for OR is a more broader acceptance of audio standards (red book, blue book markers, loop points, CD track/splice points, etc.) Or even a better recognition of 'named cue points' . I'm not into programming per se, but am fairly up on sampling and doing 'glitch music'. I understand the best way to play the MSTS horns and whistles is to have a fair amount of cue points in the WAV.. But the problem then is, it throws off or ignores a looped area further down. So if somehow code could be written or modified to allow for red book loop points AND cue points. Or simply make strigent cue names '1' and '2' to be the focused loop area, and all other cue points before hand (named Start, or 3 and 4) trigger points.to activate the horn and lessen duration.