Elvas Tower: Alpha visiblity in Passenger view - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Alpha visiblity in Passenger view Behaves like 1bit Alpha Rate Topic: -----

#11 User is offline   Hamza97 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 01-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 18 May 2022 - 01:16 AM

 superheatedsteam, on 17 May 2022 - 09:05 PM, said:

On my cabview, the drivers side windows and left front door have animation but still have the issue.


I actually never had any alpha issue in any 3D Cab I have made so far ( 4 till now ).

Attached Image: cabtop_elvastower.jpg

In this top view, the blue line is overall cab shell. White outlines are alpha`ed glass and the green outline is an animated alpha glass. And they all render properly when viewed in any direction. For reference the cab is 3.1m across and all glass planes had their origin centered normally.

#12 User is offline   wacampbell 

  • Member since Nov. 2003
  • Group: Fan: Traction Nuts
  • Posts: 2,183
  • Joined: 22-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:British Columbia, Canada
  • Country:

Posted 18 May 2022 - 05:00 AM

 superheatedsteam, on 17 May 2022 - 07:57 PM, said:

I normally export with retain names and the issue is still present.


 superheatedsteam, on 17 May 2022 - 09:05 PM, said:

On my cabview, the drivers side windows and left front door have animation but still have the issue.

Thanks for reporting back.

I think this clears the MSTS/OR exporter of all charges in this matter.

As for the actual culprit I cannot say. I haven't worked on the OR code in many years. You'll need some help from one of the active developers.

Wayne

#13 User is offline   superheatedsteam 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: 28-June 08
  • Location:Perth, WA
  • Country:

Posted 18 May 2022 - 06:15 AM

Thanks Wayne,

As the issue does not occur for me in OR v1.3 coupled with slightly different results in OR v1.4 vs Monogame, I suspect the change from XNA to Monogame could be a contributing factor.

Cheers,

Marek.

#14 User is offline   Hamza97 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 01-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 18 May 2022 - 08:25 PM

Maybe because generally in cabview and passenger views , the surface normal's are generally all INWARD towards each other, as opposed to OUTWARD direction in external views, which maybe causing issues with Monogame .. ? Because another thing that I have noticed in Mongame is that very close surfaces which don`t flicker ( Z fighting ) in XNA version tends to flicker in Monogame version.

#15 User is offline   Weter 

  • Executive Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 3,186
  • Joined: 01-June 20
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 18 May 2022 - 11:30 PM

Hello.
Not sure, it may or not be useful, but passenger "camera" indeed have different settings, rather external cams 2,3.
Those latter "cut" model in corners of FOW, if you approach them quite close to locomotive or car. Passenger - doesnt.
Else, they have different "angles of distortion". May be that is one of reasons?

#16 User is offline   Hamza97 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 01-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 24 May 2022 - 10:01 PM

Hello All ..

Finally solved the issue :yahoo:

The glass is appearing as intended.

As I said before was tying various things to get the glass to appear. As a last resort I tried messing with the NAMED SHADERS at top the shape file.

    shader_names ( 2
        named_shader ( BlendATexDiff )
        named_shader ( TexDiff )
    )


This is how that part initially looked. The first shader obviously for alpha material and next one standard shader for rest of textures. I modified the entry to like this :

    shader_names ( 2
        named_shader ( BlendATexDiff )
        named_shader ( BlendATexDiff )
    )


Saved the file, loaded game and crossed fingers hoping that glass appears properly and it did ... :drinks:


Now, I have not much programming insight on how this modification worked but for the moment this seems to work and solved the issue.

#17 User is offline   superheatedsteam 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: 28-June 08
  • Location:Perth, WA
  • Country:

Posted 25 May 2022 - 01:55 AM

I'm also glad that you managed to resolve your issue.

Unfortunately my issue persists with OR v1.4 / Monogame. I have only the one texture applied to my model.

shader_names ( 1
named_shader ( BlendATexDiff )
)

Thanks for updating us with your results.

Cheers,

Marek.

#18 User is offline   Hamza97 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 01-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 26 May 2022 - 08:01 PM

Try separating the alpha and rest of texture into two separate material ( & textures ) and then modifying the shape file in the same way as I did. Worth a shot maybe ... :wtf01:

#19 User is offline   superheatedsteam 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: 28-June 08
  • Location:Perth, WA
  • Country:

Posted 27 May 2022 - 05:39 PM

 Hamza97, on 26 May 2022 - 08:01 PM, said:

Try separating the alpha and rest of texture into two separate material ( & textures ) and then modifying the shape file in the same way as I did. Worth a shot maybe ... :wtf01:


Hi Hamza97,

Your suggestion of adding an additional material/texture to the model for the 'glass' objects has worked around the issue I was experiencing. I tried different combinations of geometry configuration but these did not make any difference in my model. There was no requirement for me to manually edit the .S file to achieve this result.

In my .S file I still have:

shader_names ( 1
named_shader ( BlendATexDiff )
)

Though further down the .S file I have the reference to the additional ace file that has been applied to the windows.

images ( 2
image ( cab_generic_emd.ace )
image ( cab_generic_emd_windows.ace )
)
textures ( 2
texture ( 0 0 0.0 ff000000 )
texture ( 1 0 0.0 ff000000 )
)

An unexpected and perplexing benefit was an additional ~6 FPS.

My preference would have been just to have a single texture applied to the entire model so that it had consistent and expected behaviour like in OR v1.3, but I am moving on.

My thanks to everyone who helped work the problem.

Cheers,

Marek.

#20 User is offline   Hamza97 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 01-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 27 May 2022 - 08:31 PM

Quote

Your suggestion of adding an additional material/texture to the model for the 'glass' objects has worked around the issue I was experiencing. I tried different combinations of geometry configuration but these did not make any difference in my model. There was no requirement for me to manually edit the .S file to achieve this result.


Great ... :thumbup3:


Quote

An unexpected and perplexing benefit was an additional ~6 FPS.


That`s strange .. :wtf01:

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users