Elvas Tower: Inserting cabview controls in side views of 2D cabs - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Posting Rules

All new threads will be started by members of the Open Rails team, Staff, and/or Admins. Existing threads started in other forums may get moved here when it makes sense to do so.

Once a thread is started any member may post replies to it.
  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Inserting cabview controls in side views of 2D cabs Rate Topic: -----

#11 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,986
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 13 November 2021 - 10:39 PM

Yes.

#12 User is offline   Weter 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 6,806
  • Joined: 01-June 20
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2021 - 12:07 AM

Worth to try, Carlo :)
We have some cabview folders with variants of *.ace-files for it's side views.
So can we specify controls&gauges as
ORTSCabViewpoint ( n )
Where n is not restricted to be 1 or 2 only?

#13 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,986
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2021 - 12:43 AM

Yes.
Clearly you have to add at the top of the .cvf file, before the EngineData() line, a block like the following one for each added cabviewpoint
	CabViewFile ( GP38Right.ace )
	Position ( 1 3.7 6 )
	Direction ( 10 84.22 0 )


#14 User is offline   Weter 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 6,806
  • Joined: 01-June 20
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2021 - 01:09 AM

Thanks alot for the code sample, Maestro!
Look, Carlo:
I have just remembered one cabview for our famous locomotive wth double cabs.
It's feature was "right" viewpoint (it was designed at pre-MSTS-bin days), which represented central view from the backward cabin.
Certainly, it included all levers and needles (as opposed to "active" front cab's main picture, where all of that was deleted for further animated *ace's to overlay) so that backward cab was "static".
So, now, we can substitute it by an "active" variant and set-back our locomotive without actual cab-change command?
i.e. change control stand for a while by just cycling viewpoints via right/left arrow keys instead of performing complete "procedure for abandoning the cab", then pressing Ctrl+E, what will swap the track monitor as well... and after that - doing all that again for returning to previous cab...

I would say, as well, about another feature... but now - the feature of the real locomotive:
it has a "Maneure" button, bringing it's power unit to Run1 state while pressed, moving a vehicle to pre-selected (by the reverser) direction carefully.
The button is easyly accessible when the driver stucked from his side window, while performing, e.g. coupling/uncoupling maneurers.
So, thanking Your efforts, we can have such functionality at ORTS now.
Thank you one more (but not the last - I'm sure about that) time!

#15 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,986
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2021 - 01:23 AM

Yes, that's possible.

#16 User is offline   Weter 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 6,806
  • Joined: 01-June 20
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2021 - 01:33 AM

Two more questions, if you don't mind, please:
1. At your code sample i can't see CabVieWindowFile block.
So far is it not needed?
2. Must the block ORTSCabViewpoint ( n ) to be just as it wrote, or must it include in braces all of it's related control's code, as
ORTSCabViewpoint( n
 Cab_Control's_Type
  This control's purpose ()
  position/size ()
  graphics ()
  num frames ()
  num positions ()
  etc.etc.etc.
)


#17 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,986
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2021 - 02:12 AM

CabViewWindowFile line is not used by OR.
ORTSCabViewpoint ( n ) must be inserted INSIDE every cabview control that must be enabled in CabViewpoint n, and not at top of the list of such controls.
Example:
		TwoState (
			Type ( HORN TWO_STATE )
			Position ( 106 125 30 21 )
			Graphic ( Horn.ace )
			NumFrames ( 2 2 1 )
			Style ( ONOFF )
			MouseControl ( 1 )
			ORTSCabviewpoint ( 1 )
		)


#18 User is offline   Weter 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 6,806
  • Joined: 01-June 20
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2021 - 03:39 AM

I see now. Thank you for explainations.
a bit off-top:
Spoiler


#19 User is offline   Traindude 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 639
  • Joined: 17-November 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 01 December 2021 - 09:08 PM

On a sort-of-related note, I'd love to see some kind of perspective distortion effect for gauges. In the past, working with photos for 2D cab views means dealing with perspective distortion on the dial faces, which makes aligning needles/hands properly more difficult, and the result is often less than convincing.

#20 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,986
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 24 January 2022 - 06:22 AM

Blueprint https://blueprints.l...-for-side-views .

  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users