Elvas Tower: Menu Options - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 26 Pages +
  • « First
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Menu Options Can we simplify them? Rate Topic: -----

#191 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,426
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 06 November 2021 - 11:40 AM

It's been a while since I posted here, but perhaps it's time to finish off this review and then we can discuss some ideas for improvements.

The next control from the Experimental Tab is:
Attached Image: 2021-11-06 19_38_10-MS Excel with extensions - Options.xlsx.jpg

and the Manual entry reads:

Attached Image: 2021-11-06 19_36_03-Manual.pdf - Foxit Reader.jpg

This seems straightforward, but perhaps there should be a Tab dedicated to developers as opposed to users.

#192 User is offline   steved 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,048
  • Joined: 19-December 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South of here
  • Country:

Posted 06 November 2021 - 11:52 AM

Maybe this should default to .dds textures and only show an .ace when a .dds isn't available.

Randy


#193 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Owner
  • Posts: 14,594
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 06 November 2021 - 02:50 PM

View Poststeved, on 06 November 2021 - 11:52 AM, said:

Maybe this should default to .dds textures and only show an .ace when a .dds isn't available.

Randy

I have not checked in a long time but when I did .dds files degraded frame rates. I threw away all my .dds files as a result. Perhaps somebody w/ such files could test .ace vs. .dds to see if the facts are different today.

This does prompt the question: is there any visual difference between the two types in OR today?

#194 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,426
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 07 November 2021 - 11:13 AM

View PostGenma Saotome, on 06 November 2021 - 02:50 PM, said:

I have not checked in a long time but when I did .dds files degraded frame rates. I threw away all my .dds files as a result. Perhaps somebody w/ such files could test .ace vs. .dds to see if the facts are different today.

This does prompt the question: is there any visual difference between the two types in OR today?

Would be nice to get an answer to Dave's questions.


In the meantime, the next control on the Experimental Tab is:

Attached Image: 2021-11-07 19_03_48-Options.jpg

and the Manual reads:

Attached Image: 2021-11-07 19_03_48-Options.jpg

I don't know, but I guess that the purpose of this option is to allow a player to use Kosmos environments and, if Kosmos was fully implemented in Open Rails, then this option would be unnecessary. Is that right?

I note that there is a blueprint already proposed for this by rdamurphy, so it's a shame that he didn't manage to implement it.

#195 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,426
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 08 November 2021 - 12:00 PM

Moving on, I saved the first tab until last - the General Tab. The first control is:

Attached Image: 2021-11-08 19_53_25-MS Excel with extensions - Options v02.xlsx.jpg

and the Manual reads:


Attached Image: 2021-11-08 19_54_03-MS Excel with extensions - Options v02.xlsx.jpg


This looks straightforward.

It seems to me that "General" is a rather unhelpful name for the tab. Along with some other controls, this particular control would be better in a tab called "Behavior" indicating how the simulation should behave.

#196 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,426
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 03 January 2022 - 12:02 PM

View Postcjakeman, on 08 November 2021 - 12:00 PM, said:

Moving on, I saved the first tab until last - the General Tab.


The next control is Control Confirmations:

Attached Image: 2022-01-03 19_44_44-Options.jpg


and the Manual reads:

Attached Image: 2022-01-03 19_48_54-MS Excel with extensions - Options v02.xlsx.jpg


Thanks to Ryan's changes, this setting can be changed in-game and the change is retained once the game is over.

I think perhaps it is the wrong way round. Instead of being "Suppress . . ." with the default of OFF, it should be "Show . . ." with the default of ON. Double negatives like "suppress" and "disable" are not good practice.

#197 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,426
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 04 January 2022 - 11:49 AM

The next control is Map Window:


Attached Image: 2022-01-04 19_32_00-MS Excel with extensions - Options v02.xlsx.jpg



and the Manual entry is:


Attached Image: 2022-01-04 19_33_09-MS Excel with extensions - Options v02.xlsx.jpg


I think there are several issues with this option.

(The window used to open hidden behind the graphics screen, but that's been fixed.) Is there any need for this option at all? Could it be permanently enabled? We should perhaps check that it is not consuming CPU before the user opens it with Ctrl+9.

If the option is removed, then the Manual entry above will disappear too. The Map Window itself is fully explained in Section 7.5.

#198 User is offline   Laci1959 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 325
  • Joined: 01-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Alföld
  • Country:

Posted 04 January 2022 - 12:06 PM

Quote

A következő vezérlő a Map Window:


Hello.

In Timetable mode, it is very good for unloading traffic.

Sincerely, Laci1959

#199 User is offline   Weter 

  • Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,202
  • Joined: 01-June 20
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 05 January 2022 - 02:41 AM

Yes. Chris.
I have suffered some issues with it:
Before, the enter focus didn't jump from game window to map/dispatcher window completely. So, when I did something with a map window, I could change some of controls/activate exit menu occasionally. Else, zooming map out with very large routes, as Wupper express could crash the game too.

Now (since end of this spring), another problem appeared: I can turn window on by Ctrl-9, then toggle it to appear in front of game/viewer window or go behind it by Alt-Tad, but can't turn it off, until it activated again.

WRT the said option: if it doesn't consume resources, until it is being activated by Ctrl-9 and stops consume it, since we turn it off by pressing Ctrl-9 again, the option is not needed, as we do that in game.

#200 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,426
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 05 January 2022 - 09:29 AM

View PostWeter, on 05 January 2022 - 02:41 AM, said:

WRT the said option: if it doesn't consume resources, until it is being activated by Ctrl-9 and stops consume it, since we turn it off by pressing Ctrl-9 again, the option is not needed, as we do that in game.

So we agree on this then.


The next control on the General Tab is:
Attached Image: 2022-01-05 17_06_16-MS Excel with extensions - Options v02.xlsx.jpg


and the Manual text is:

Attached Image: 2022-01-05 17_06_45-MS Excel with extensions - Options v02.xlsx.jpg

LargeAddressAware is currently useful on a 64-bit OS to provide up to 4GB of memory. Although it can also be used to increase the 2GB of memory available on a 32-bit OS to 3GB, I have not heard of anyone using it in that mode.


So I would expect this control to be redundant once we have a choice of 32-bit or 64-bit Open Rails (like OR_NewYear_MG).

  • 26 Pages +
  • « First
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users