Elvas Tower: Shadows - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Shadows Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   dforrest 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 831
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Vincent (formally UK)
  • Simulator:MSTS, Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2021 - 05:40 AM

There is very little information in the OR Manual concerning shadows (just two lines for each of "Dynamic shadows" and "Shadow for all shapes"). Are shadows also shown ween neither of these is selected?

Additionally, when I select Dynamic Shadows, they do not display correctly. For an example, a shadow displays below a tree and on an adjacent track-bed but not on an embankment or cutting between these two locations. Can this be corrected?

#2 User is offline   vince 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,221
  • Joined: 18-June 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West of the Contental Divide
  • Simulator:ORTS_Running MSTS_Editing
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2021 - 11:44 AM

View Postdforrest, on 21 February 2021 - 05:40 AM, said:

There is very little information in the OR Manual concerning shadows (just two lines for each of "Dynamic shadows" and "Shadow for all shapes"). Are shadows also shown ween neither of these is selected?

Additionally, when I select Dynamic Shadows, they do not display correctly. For an example, a shadow displays below a tree and on an adjacent track-bed but not on an embankment or cutting between these two locations. Can this be corrected?
Hi David,
Your problem may be related to a problem I had where Dynamic Shadows were not rendering on a station platform.
Here's a picture of the problem and what I did to fix it.

Attached Image: DYN SHAD COMPARE (Custom).jpgq
So it looks like shadows are dependent on how the object is constructed.
There's no standard for modelling for OR or MSTS that I know of so when I see a glitch like in the picture I just correct it.
I think posted a question here asking for and got advice how to correct but can't remember when.

regards,
vince

edit:add; picture date is ‎Friday, ‎October ‎28, ‎2016, ‏‎9:25:47 PM.I'll search for post around that time. vc

#3 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Owner
  • Posts: 14,108
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2021 - 12:36 PM

Is Blendatex the default shader you get on export when you've used .tga files?

It's not an issue for me... I modified the SU exporter to use Texdiff on .bmp files when I noticed the original code treated .tga files as-if they were going to be transparencies no matter what and so I now only use .bmp files for art that will be opaque.

#4 User is offline   ebnertra000 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 927
  • Joined: 27-February 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East-Central Minnesota
  • Simulator:OR/TSRE
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2021 - 12:37 PM

I'm pretty sure that BlendATex is a full-brightness shader. If I remember right, I used it for a flame effect once, since it's also alpha-capable

#5 User is offline   vince 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,221
  • Joined: 18-June 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West of the Contental Divide
  • Simulator:ORTS_Running MSTS_Editing
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2021 - 01:15 PM

View Postvince, on 21 February 2021 - 11:44 AM, said:

Hi David,
edit:add; picture date is ‎Friday, ‎October ‎28, ‎2016, ‏‎9:25:47 PM.I'll search for post around that time.


I found the thread:>>> http://www.elvastowe...__1#entry209029

#6 User is offline   vince 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,221
  • Joined: 18-June 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West of the Contental Divide
  • Simulator:ORTS_Running MSTS_Editing
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2021 - 01:39 PM

View PostGenma Saotome, on 21 February 2021 - 12:36 PM, said:

Is Blendatex the default shader you get on export when you've used .tga files? It's not an issue for me... I modified the SU exporter to use Texdiff on .bmp files when I noticed the original code treated .tga files as-if they were going to be transparencies no matter what and so I now only use .bmp files for art that will be opaque.

Dave,
I don't know . . . never looked and no idea what was used to build and export the platforms d/l'd from file library,

regards,
vince


#7 User is offline   dforrest 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 831
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Vincent (formally UK)
  • Simulator:MSTS, Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2021 - 02:08 PM

This image shows the situation I am referring to in the first post of this thread. The shadow of the trees shows on the track-bed and grassed areas beside it, but not on the embankment.

Attached thumbnail(s)

  • Attached Image: Shadows.jpg


#8 User is offline   Eldorado.Railroad 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 850
  • Joined: 31-May 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2021 - 02:50 PM

View Postdforrest, on 21 February 2021 - 02:08 PM, said:

This image shows the situation I am referring to in the first post of this thread. The shadow of the trees shows on the track-bed and grassed areas beside it, but not on the embankment.


What route is this?

Are these real embankments, as in the terrain has been cut/modified, or is the embankment a separate model of an embankment?

Steve

#9 User is offline   vince 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,221
  • Joined: 18-June 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West of the Contental Divide
  • Simulator:ORTS_Running MSTS_Editing
  • Country:

Posted 21 February 2021 - 06:49 PM

View Postdforrest, on 21 February 2021 - 02:08 PM, said:

This image shows the situation I am referring to in the first post of this thread. The shadow of the trees shows on the track-bed and grassed areas beside it, but not on the embankment.

Same answer David . . . Look into the shape file for that embankment and tell us what shaders are used. Then change it like I did the platform object.

regards,
vince

#10 User is offline   dforrest 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 831
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Vincent (formally UK)
  • Simulator:MSTS, Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 22 February 2021 - 06:17 AM

Steve, Vince, the embankments shown in the screenshot are separate models. The named-shader used is TexDiff.

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users