• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Trying to write a script for the British AWS Rate Topic: -----

#21 User is offline   Csantucci 

• Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member

Posted 03 February 2020 - 02:08 AM

Thank you. In fact I think the best approach is to consider for AWS warning all signals having at least an aspect that is neither STOP nor CLEAR_2. Unfortunately looking for this in a simple way is not something which is implemented in OR now, so I am studying what would do the best way to do it, trying to implement something that could be useful also for other TCSs. As of now in effect there is no possibility for the TCS script to have info about distance signals, and this is an info which is useful also for other TCSs. I will also ask roeter to be a consultant in this.

#22 User is offline   darwins 

• Superintendant
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 03 February 2020 - 04:29 AM

Finding distant signals (and other warnings) would be vital for most TCS.
If OR can read distant signals then it would also be good to add them to the track monitor. Yes I know I can see all the home signals two miles ahead, but driving steam the distant was usually positioned at what would nowadays be called the braking point - usually about 800 yards before the outer home on level track on fast routes - stopping distance from around 70 mph with vacuum brakes.

#23 User is offline   roeter 

• Vice President

Posted 03 February 2020 - 05:14 AM

For my general view on this issue, see this post.
As for this particular script, for now I would limit it to NORMAL signals, that would cover all modern continouos block MAS systems.