Elvas Tower: Trying to write a script for the British AWS - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 18 Pages +
  • « First
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Trying to write a script for the British AWS Rate Topic: -----

#161 User is offline   Coolhand101 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 13-June 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 06 March 2020 - 05:46 PM

Hi Carlo.

Question about the Overspeed script. When the Overspeed is triggered, the AWS shows the warning sunflower. Is it possible in the INI/script/AWS.ace to avoid this?

Thanks

#162 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 7,000
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 08 March 2020 - 06:49 AM

You should delete line 780, that is
                            SetNextSignalAspect(Aspect.Approach_3);

in method UpdateOverspeedMonitor().

#163 User is offline   Coolhand101 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 13-June 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 08 March 2020 - 01:20 PM

Many thanks!

Along with the previous instruction, I can now finally have the BR 125 HSTs fitted with an overspeed trip for traction cut off ;)

#164 User is offline   darwins 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,237
  • Joined: 25-September 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 10 March 2020 - 11:39 AM

Now that Carlo's work is over I have found this very useful document online.
BR and BR-WR AWS Manual
December 1974
Comprehensive description of the Automatic Warning System.


#165 User is offline   darwins 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,237
  • Joined: 25-September 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 23 April 2020 - 01:03 AM

Hello
A question for Carlos and the OR Development team:
When will the AWS script function in the "other" version of OpenRails (not MG)?
I am having a look at getting the AWS to function in a variety of ways in different stock, but have the problem that AWS seems only to function in the MG version, whereas there are some developments with vacuum brakes on steam and diesel locos made over the past few months, that only seem to work correctly in the XNA version - notably the function of the large and small ejector on steam locomotives - it is possible to release the brakes on these locos without using any ejectors to suck the air out.
One of the recent additions to brake code that will be very useful for AWS and DVD operation is the addition of the air or vacuum governors. These can now be included in eng files using the following:

ORTSDoesVacuumBrakeCutPower ( 1 )
ORTSBrakeCutsPowerAtBrakePipePressure ( 12.5inHg )
ORTSBrakeRestoresPowerAtBrakePipePressure ( 16inHg )


ORTSDoesBrakeCutPower ( 1 )
ORTSBrakeCutsPowerAtBrakePipePressure ( 46psi )
ORTSBrakeRestoresPowerAtBrakePipePressure ( 60psi )





#166 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 7,000
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 23 April 2020 - 02:57 AM

Hi darwins,
1) I've written to the ORMT just some hours before your post to ask if they will approve the TCS extensions for the official OR version. Trello box and blueprint are pending since some time.
2) The physics of OR NewYear MG should be equivalent to the one of the actual official unstable release (which is Monogame based), because I regularly update OR NewYear MG with the changes that steamer_ctn introduces. If instead there are physics features that work in the official XNA release (that is the testing release) which don't work in the official unstable release, that's something you should check with steamer_ctn. So my question is: does the official unstable release work as you expect re vacuum brakes on steam and diesel locos? And are you using an updated OR NewYear MG release?

#167 User is offline   darwins 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,237
  • Joined: 25-September 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 23 April 2020 - 05:26 AM

View PostCsantucci, on 23 April 2020 - 02:57 AM, said:

Hi darwins,
1) I've written to the ORMT just some hours before your post to ask if they will approve the TCS extensions for the official OR version. Trello box and blueprint are pending since some time.
2) The physics of OR NewYear MG should be equivalent to the one of the actual official unstable release (which is Monogame based), because I regularly update OR NewYear MG with the changes that steamer_ctn introduces. If instead there are physics features that work in the official XNA release (that is the testing release) which don't work in the official unstable release, that's something you should check with steamer_ctn. So my question is: does the official unstable release work as you expect re vacuum brakes on steam and diesel locos? And are you using an updated OR NewYear MG release?


Thanks for a quick response. I am using what I believe is the latest MG version - Rev 59I am not sure if the features described are working in the testing release as I have been using them in an unstable XNA release. I will check.

As I am working through the possible options for AWS, I am reminded again that at present the monitors are limited to two options:

AppliesFullBrake
or
AppliesEmergencyBrake

which are governed by

TrainBrakesControllerMaxApplicationRate ( x )
and

TrainBrakesControllerEmergencyApplicationRate ( x )


As already discussed, in the UK example it would be more realistic for many trains to have an AppliesAWSBrake option. This might be useful for other systems from other countries too so perhaps should be generalised as

AppliesTCSBrake

which could then be governed by a new parameter

ORTSTrainBrakesControllerTCSApplicationRate ( x )




#168 User is offline   Icik 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 308
  • Joined: 19-April 15
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 24 April 2020 - 04:18 AM

Hi Carlo, what returns the LocomotiveBrakeCylinderPressureBar function? Can I use it to test the pressure value in the brake cylinder of a locomotive?
For example:
if (LocomotiveBrakeCylinderPressureBar() > 1bar) do something

#169 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 7,000
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 24 April 2020 - 04:49 AM

Yes, it returns what you are supposing.

Darwin, sorry, but I am full of things to do for OR and I don't have the time for that too. And anyhow that would require also an intervention in the braking software, where I have few knowledge.

#170 User is offline   Icik 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 308
  • Joined: 19-April 15
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 24 April 2020 - 06:02 AM

View PostCsantucci, on 24 April 2020 - 04:49 AM, said:

Yes, it returns what you are supposing.


It works, thanks Carlo.

  • 18 Pages +
  • « First
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users