Elvas Tower: auto numbering? - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

auto numbering? an idea

#1 User is offline   stlsf4003 

  • Hostler
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: 04-November 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 06 November 2019 - 07:10 PM

So as y'all know, the two big name's in train siming right now (Trainz 2019, Trainsim 20xx) have had one form or another of auto numbering system over the years now.

I was thinking if it would be possible to pull something like that off with OR?

For one thing, you would no longer need to make more then one locomotive or rolling stock model to add multiple road number's to the pack, thus saving on space in the file and hard drive.

Basically, you can represent an entire locomotive class with a single model.

Just food for thought.

#2 User is offline   ebnertra000 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 682
  • Joined: 27-February 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East-Central Minnesota
  • Simulator:OR/TSRE
  • Country:

Posted 07 November 2019 - 04:02 AM

Wouldn't every unit of a given class be weathered exactly the same if they were based on the same model?

#3 User is online   scottb613 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 1,684
  • Joined: 06-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:"Upstate" New York
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 07 November 2019 - 04:33 AM

View Poststlsf4003, on 06 November 2019 - 07:10 PM, said:

So as y'all know, the two big name's in train siming right now (Trainz 2019, Trainsim 20xx) have had one form or another of auto numbering system over the years now.

I was thinking if it would be possible to pull something like that off with OR?

For one thing, you would no longer need to make more then one locomotive or rolling stock model to add multiple road number's to the pack, thus saving on space in the file and hard drive.

Basically, you can represent an entire locomotive class with a single model.

Just food for thought.


Hi Folks,

While skeptical of auto numbering - as every car will be a clone and the number panel will need to blend with the paint - I am so with you on eliminating multiple models...

It's absolutely nuts that we need to create and edit a shape every time we need a new texture for a model...

Take a page from Flight Sim - each group of textures for an aircraft paint is located in its own sub-directory (Texture.1, Texture.2, Texture.3) and the config file (wag/eng) simply defines each paint calling the corresponding texture directory... We also have a fallback capability - where - if the texture isn't found in the specified directory - it will fallback to a common directory - so your individualized texture directories only contain those textures unique to that aircraft... Way better...

Regards,
Scott

#4 User is offline   wacampbell 

  • Member since Nov. 2003
  • Group: Fan: Traction Nuts
  • Posts: 2,005
  • Joined: 22-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:British Columbia, Canada
  • Country:

Posted 07 November 2019 - 06:17 AM

View Postscottb613, on 07 November 2019 - 04:33 AM, said:

Take a page from Flight Sim - each group of textures for an aircraft paint is located in its own sub-directory (Texture.1, Texture.2, Texture.3) and the config file (wag/eng) simply defines each paint calling the corresponding texture directory... We also have a fallback capability - where - if the texture isn't found in the specified directory - it will fallback to a common directory - so your individualized texture directories only contain those textures unique to that aircraft... Way better...


What a simple solution - so many advantages. Sharing the shape file across repaints is good use of GPU resources. It makes distributing repaints easy - just provide the reskin folder and an eng/wag file. It would be nice to extend it to scenery as well somehow - for example a house could be skinned in multiple colors but share a single shape file.

As for car numbering, I also agree its worth doing something. Railworks has a method that works well, but can be improved. I'll have to think more on that.

#5 User is offline   conductorchris 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 1,959
  • Joined: 24-March 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails - MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 07 November 2019 - 10:18 AM

I don't know anything about these things, but it seems like these changes in directory structure should be simple programming, no?
We could shift assignment of texture to the .sd file or .wag/.eng file and default back to the .s file if nothing is listed in the .sd/.wag/.eng file.

This sort of change might go along with allowing multiple TRAINSET folders or even more radical configurations.

Christopher

#6 User is offline   stlsf4003 

  • Hostler
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: 04-November 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 07 November 2019 - 01:05 PM

View Postebnertra000, on 07 November 2019 - 04:02 AM, said:

Wouldn't every unit of a given class be weathered exactly the same if they were based on the same model?


I'ed think the only to get around that issue would be to do as a few Trainz modeler's are doing and included a system that would allow the end user to select form a pre-installed list of weathering options.

Though the elephant in the room will be trying to get this to work with a consist editor like TSRE5. Due to the fact that Railworks and Trainz never had any use for something that clunky and just use's a much simpler in game system of placing the engine/rolling stock on the route while in game and just pressing play.

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users