Elvas Tower: F5 HUD scrolling. - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Posting Rules

All new threads will be started by members of the Open Rails team, Staff, and/or Admins. Existing threads started in other forums may get moved here when it makes sense to do so.

Once a thread is started any member may post replies to it.
  • 12 Pages +
  • « First
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

F5 HUD scrolling.

#101 User is offline   Haran Banjo 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Dispatcher
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 12-November 19
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 13 November 2019 - 01:51 AM

How toggle between "Full Text HUD" and "Condensed HUD"?

#102 User is offline   mbm_OR 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 203
  • Joined: 03-July 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 13 November 2019 - 03:11 AM

View PostHaran Banjo, on 13 November 2019 - 01:51 AM, said:

How toggle between "Full Text HUD" and "Condensed HUD"?

Hi,

If the small yellow box does not appear in the upper right corner of the Train Driving window, please, could you try with the language option, set to English?

Regards,
Mauricio

#103 User is offline   Haran Banjo 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Dispatcher
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 12-November 19
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 13 November 2019 - 04:35 AM

View Postmbm_OR, on 13 November 2019 - 03:11 AM, said:

Hi,

If the small yellow box does not appear in the upper right corner of the Train Driving window, please, could you try with the language option, set to English?

Regards,
Mauricio


Ok it works, but I hope it will work for the Italian version in the future, thanks for the advice

#104 User is offline   mbm_OR 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 203
  • Joined: 03-July 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2019 - 01:42 PM

Hi All,

This new code allows to display the condensed "Train Driving Info" only in English, at the moment, regardless of the user's language setting.

Attached is the new beta code aligned with the OR x1.3.1-99 Testing version.

18/11/2019. New code here.

Regards,
Mauricio.

#105 User is offline   scottb613 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 1,929
  • Joined: 06-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:"Upstate" New York
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 15 November 2019 - 03:47 AM

Hi Mauricio,

If I haven't worn out my welcome...
:)

I'm really hoping the steam experts stop in here to share their wisdom - I did invite them - hah - it seems that the steam HUD is the most work for you - by far...

Two suggestions worth considering - no rush whatsoever - whenever you feel like looking at this again...

I'd suggest the following color change - as Green is intuitively good or go - and Red is intuitively bad or stop...

Quote

[] Boiler Heat Input lower than Boiler Heat Output.
[] Boiler Heat Input/Output balanced.
[] Boiler Heat Input upper than Boiler Heat Output.


The other thing and I didn't mention it before - I really like the part of your HUD where you created the notification center (Auto, Slip, Door) - - - there is one steam locomotive notification still using the old "Control Confirmation" method - that would be a good candidate to fit into your notification window - - - "Grate Limit Exceeded" - - - we could call it "GRAT" - and the value could be "Exceeded"...

Just some things to think about...

If you ever want to work on any of the other HUD's - just give me a shout...
;)

Thanks for all you do - driving trains is SOOOO much better now...

Regards,
Scott

#106 User is offline   steamer_ctn 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,269
  • Joined: 24-June 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 17 November 2019 - 12:48 PM

View Postscottb613, on 15 November 2019 - 03:47 AM, said:

I'd suggest the following color change - as Green is intuitively good or go - and Red is intuitively bad or stop...

I disagree with the idea of using red/green, as in some instances too much heat (green) can actually be bad. Ideally under most circumstances, unless boiler pressure is low, the heat balance should be run at the balanced level. Running too hot could cause inappropriate blow off of the safety valves.

The orange color was chosen to denote a heating effect, and the blue color was choose to denote a cooling effect. I don't believe that a good or bad indication is as an effective indication of what is actually happening.

#107 User is offline   scottb613 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 1,929
  • Joined: 06-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:"Upstate" New York
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 18 November 2019 - 04:02 AM

View Poststeamer_ctn, on 17 November 2019 - 12:48 PM, said:

I disagree with the idea of using red/green, as in some instances too much heat (green) can actually be bad. Ideally under most circumstances, unless boiler pressure is low, the heat balance should be run at the balanced level. Running too hot could cause inappropriate blow off of the safety valves.

The orange color was chosen to denote a heating effect, and the blue color was choose to denote a cooling effect. I don't believe that a good or bad indication is as an effective indication of what is actually happening.


Hi Peter,

Sounds good to me - I wasn't thinking in terms of heat - I was thinking of steam surplus/deficit - if it's indicating heat - your colors make sense now - sold...

Any thoughts on "Grate Limit Exceeded" - is this something we want to keep ?

Thanks...

Regards,
Scott

#108 User is offline   mbm_OR 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 203
  • Joined: 03-July 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 18 November 2019 - 04:41 AM

Hi Scott,

View Postscottb613, on 18 November 2019 - 04:02 AM, said:

Any thoughts on "Grate Limit Exceeded" - is this something we want to keep ?

New improvements:
  • The "Grate Limit" info has been included.
  • Fixed a bug related to the locales steam status info.

Attached is the new beta code aligned with the OR x1.3.1-100 Testing version.
11/01/2020. New code here

Regards,
Mauricio.

#109 User is offline   steamer_ctn 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,269
  • Joined: 24-June 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 18 November 2019 - 07:03 PM

View Postscottb613, on 18 November 2019 - 04:02 AM, said:

Any thoughts on "Grate Limit Exceeded" - is this something we want to keep ?

Grate Limit indicates that the amount of coal on the grate is too dense (thick), and hence there is a limitation in heat production as the coal does not burn as efficiently, hence heat input to the boiler is "capped".

In AI mode, this might be reached if the locomotive is driven too hard by the driver by using excessive steam (or perhaps not configured properly), however it shouldn't normally happen.

It is more likely to be an issue in Manual firing mode.

Therefore I would suggest that it remain as an alarm (on bottom of screen when triggered) in AI mode, and perhaps be shown as an "indicator" to the fireman in Manual mode.

#110 User is offline   scottb613 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 1,929
  • Joined: 06-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:"Upstate" New York
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 19 November 2019 - 04:03 AM

View Postmbm_OR, on 18 November 2019 - 04:41 AM, said:

Hi Scott,


New improvements:
  • The "Grate Limit" info has been included.
  • Fixed a bug related to the locales steam status info.

Attached is the new beta code aligned with the OR x1.3.1-100 Testing version.
Attachment F5TrainDrivingWindow-x131-100-20191118.zip

Regards,
Mauricio.



View Poststeamer_ctn, on 18 November 2019 - 07:03 PM, said:

Grate Limit indicates that the amount of coal on the grate is too dense (thick), and hence there is a limitation in heat production as the coal does not burn as efficiently, hence heat input to the boiler is "capped".

In AI mode, this might be reached if the locomotive is driven too hard by the driver by using excessive steam (or perhaps not configured properly), however it shouldn't normally happen.

It is more likely to be an issue in Manual firing mode.

Therefore I would suggest that it remain as an alarm (on bottom of screen when triggered) in AI mode, and perhaps be shown as an "indicator" to the fireman in Manual mode.


Hi Folks,

Once again - thanks so much for your insights and efforts - I can't express often enough how much your new tool improves my ORTS experience - it's SOOOOO much better now...

Regards,
Scott

  • 12 Pages +
  • « First
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users