Elvas Tower: Out of Memory - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Out of Memory Best practice

#1 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Superintendant
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 1,847
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 06 October 2019 - 10:12 AM

A number of would be users report (via the website) that the route they want to use gives them an "out of memory" exception.

Our Manual has no specific section about memory and how best to minimise its consumption.

If I were to add such a section, what do you think should be included?

#2 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Executive Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 4,581
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 06 October 2019 - 11:58 AM

I think that the most important thing is to provide the recommended option settings.

#3 User is offline   copperpen 

  • Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,886
  • Joined: 08-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS & OR
  • Country:

Posted 06 October 2019 - 11:58 AM

The "out of memory " exception refers to a virtual memory allocation for the program to run in, not actual installed memory, and generally only applies to 32 bit operating systems. On a 32 bit OS each program running is allocated 4GB of virtual memory to run in, when this space is full, you get the "out of memory" exception.

#4 User is offline   Eldorado.Railroad 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 782
  • Joined: 31-May 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 06 October 2019 - 06:43 PM

Way back in 2017!

Please read

Thanks

#5 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Superintendant
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 1,847
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 10 October 2019 - 07:38 AM

The memory issues apply to the XNA distribution not Monogame and that's what I'm getting support questions about via the website.

View PostCsantucci, on 06 October 2019 - 11:58 AM, said:

I think that the most important thing is to provide the recommended option settings.

Agreed. The manual doesn't discuss memory usage, so I was going to add something along these lines:

Options > Video > Model Instancing = Yes
Options > Video > Distant Mountains = No
Options > Video > Viewing Distance = 2000
Options > Experimental > Load day/night textures only when needed = Yes

Is that good advice? Are there any options I've missed and should add?

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users