Elvas Tower: MSTS Versions? - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

MSTS Versions?

#1 User is offline   Coonskin 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,868
  • Joined: 15-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern Oklahoma
  • Country:

Posted 10 September 2019 - 07:14 AM

Hi fella's!

I have a online friend that was into MSTS some time ago. Because of a common interest we have in the North Arkansas prototype railroad that I'm building into a route (see my "Route Ramblin's" thread here for more info), he is re-entering the hobby. Anyway, said friend thinks he has the "Atari" bundled version that he purchased at Walmart umpteen years ago. He asking about a "Deluxe" version he saw or something.

My question: Is the Atari version of MSTS a good enough "start here" for the upgrades available over at Steam4me?

I still have my original discs that Microsoft released so I've sort of forgotten the various publisher versions and pitfalls (if any) that one needs to be aware of.

Any input would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

#2 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Owner
  • Posts: 13,283
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 10 September 2019 - 08:22 AM

AFAIK Atari does no software development. They buy old stuff for almost nothing and sell it w/o change for not much. Exaggerating here, any revenue over $1 would be profit. Makes the Dollar store look like Nordstrom.

#3 User is offline   Coonskin 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,868
  • Joined: 15-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern Oklahoma
  • Country:

Posted 10 September 2019 - 08:47 AM

Thanks Dave for the reply.

My friend has resurrected an older XP machine for MSTS developmental use, so if the disc(s?) are good, he should be good to go.

Andre

#4 User is online   ckawahara 

  • Member since Nov. 2003
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,884
  • Joined: 22-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SP Pomona Div. MP 520.2
  • Simulator:MSTS, OR
  • Country:

Posted 10 September 2019 - 09:29 AM

Be sure to get the updates.

Might take a look at the steam4me tutorial. Even though it's directed at Window 7/10, there are lots of good suggestions as to add-ons (to be or not-to-be installed depending upon the need. Some customization items might include the 'menu-fix'and transparent aids.

#5 User is offline   Coonskin 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,868
  • Joined: 15-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern Oklahoma
  • Country:

Posted 10 September 2019 - 10:05 AM

Thanks ck.

Yes, I will encourage him to get all the updates at Steam4me as well as MSTS Bin, and XTracks/etc.

#6 User is offline   DRelyea 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 286
  • Joined: 05-May 13
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 10 September 2019 - 10:39 AM

IIRC it was the Ubisoft distribution that had problems getting the BIN installed. Their 1.4 update was not the same. I don't recall seeing any posts about problems with the Atari distribution.

Doug Relyea

#7 User is offline   keystoneaholic 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 580
  • Joined: 18-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 10 September 2019 - 11:04 AM

Actually, my genuine Microsoft discs would not allow BIN to install, the train.exe file was bigger than the original. As I recall I had to get the 1.4 update file from Steamforme (I think) before I could get BIN to install. It might be that MS sold different versions of MSTS to different resellers?

In these days of OR, it's all a bit acedemic anyway.

#8 User is offline   Coonskin 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,868
  • Joined: 15-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern Oklahoma
  • Country:

Posted 10 September 2019 - 12:48 PM

"In these days of OR, it's all a bit acedemic anyway."

Not academic at all. Some prefer to develop without ORTS/etc, so the end result is TRULY "MSTS compatible", yet can be run in ORTS for those so inclined.

Plus, the chap is just returning to the hobby, I'm not going to try to get him to jump ship and learn an entirely new sim that can have frustrating features unless you study the docs and know the work-around's. (Air pump-up times, glad hands, angle cocks, etc, etc.) IF he re-enters and takes hold, and later wants to expand his horizons, then I can introduce ORTS to him.

Andre

#9 User is offline   DRelyea 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 286
  • Joined: 05-May 13
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 10 September 2019 - 03:43 PM

That's very possible, that Microsoft sold different versions to the distributors at different times. Most likely by accident, but with them you never know.

Doug Relyea

#10 User is offline   Captain Tom 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Switchman
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 25-June 19
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Simulator:MSTS ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 16 September 2019 - 08:26 PM

After spending many years with the Flight Sim community, I recently bought a new system that came with Windows 10. Thought I would load the original set of MSTS CDs that I bought back in 2002 (with the BNSF locos on the face of the box). MSTS started right up with Win 10 and I've sure been having fun loading all the routes, activities, and rolling stock that are now available.

As far as I know there was only one MS version of the TS.

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users