Elvas Tower: Sound Regions - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Sound Regions

#1 User is offline   QJ-6811 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: 27-December 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS / Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 04 May 2019 - 06:18 AM

1) Does anyone know if it is possible to place a Sound Regions marker (yellow triangle) in TSRE5 in a tunnel? (And if so, how ....?)

2) And regarding OR, I don't see these sounds appearing in the "sound debug" module (ALT-S). Are these "sound regions triggers" visible somewhere?

Last question because if I start a consist / train on the route from 'A to Z' or from 'Z to A' all sound regions work perfectly.
However, if I turn around (CTR-E, different cabin, opposite direction), the sound regions do not work or are often delayed. As if the trigger stays in the first, now rear part of the train?
(tested with 3 different trains, also with a 180 degree rotated train / consist, problem remains the same: forward OK, reverse after CTR-E again error?)

#2 User is offline   Garry 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: 09-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails + TSRE5
  • Country:

Posted 04 May 2019 - 08:11 AM

It is possible to place sound markers on tunnel track, but it does not seem to be easy.
I have tried aiming the cursor in the direction of the track from above ground without much success.
By unchecking "Stick camera to terrain" under settings I have succeeded in placing a sound marker, but it does not go where I want, instead it is at the end of the track piece.
But if you select the tunnel track and press F to get the terrain down to the level of the track you can place sound markers where you wish.

It is best to make a complete copy of your route, and save it elsewhere. If anything goes wrong you can place this copy back in your MSTS installation.

So make a copy of your Tiles folder, select the tunnel track and press F, place your sound markers as required, but do nothing else.
Then Save your route, close your route.
Delete the Tiles folder, and replace the Tiles-copy folder in your route.
When you now reopen your route you will find the terrain as it was before, and your tunnel track will have sound markers.

Garry

#3 User is offline   QJ-6811 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: 27-December 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS / Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 04 May 2019 - 11:12 AM

I knew the "F" option but this brings the tunnel to the surface. (not bad if the route is still empty, but if objects have already been placed .... )
But the "copy way" of the Tiles folder is an idea, give it a try tomorrow. :)
Thanks in advance. !

#4 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,172
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 04 May 2019 - 11:42 AM

Sound region sounds are listed in the sound debug window in the OR NewYear MG version.

#5 User is offline   Goku 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,734
  • Joined: 12-December 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:my own
  • Country:

Posted 04 May 2019 - 12:06 PM

Change cursor mode to stick to everything and disable camera stick to terrain.

#6 User is offline   QJ-6811 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: 27-December 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS / Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 04 May 2019 - 12:30 PM

View PostGoku, on 04 May 2019 - 12:06 PM, said:

Change cursor mode to stick to everything and disable camera stick to terrain.


By "Stick to everyting" do you mean "Tick to Target"?
This normally works well, but not with a tunnel or sound regions. (?)

(the sound region is placed somewhere (see left), but far away from this tunnel)

Attached File  New-2.jpg (467.6K)
Number of downloads: 8

#7 User is offline   Goku 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,734
  • Joined: 12-December 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:my own
  • Country:

Posted 04 May 2019 - 12:54 PM

You should never use this option above for interactives.

I'm talking about placement modes. You should read these existing basic guides before using TSRE:
http://koniec.org/ts...recontrols.html

Use my forum for further help: http://www.onrails.eu/index.php

#8 User is offline   QJ-6811 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: 27-December 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS / Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 05 May 2019 - 12:50 AM

View PostGoku, on 04 May 2019 - 12:54 PM, said:

You should never use this option above for interactives.

I'm talking about placement modes. You should read these existing basic guides before using TSRE:
http://koniec.org/ts...recontrols.html

Use my forum for further help: http://www.onrails.eu/index.php


Correct, normaly I don't use this option, only this one was the most like your comment.

Yes, I often read the manuals, but sometimes "malfunctioning functions" cannot be traced directly if you do not know "why". In this case the description is about objects … :) And not all options are in the manual.

OK, thanks for the information, so the answer is just: "use Shift-Q". :sign_thanks:

#9 User is offline   QJ-6811 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: 27-December 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS / Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 05 May 2019 - 12:54 AM

View PostCsantucci, on 04 May 2019 - 11:42 AM, said:

Sound region sounds are listed in the sound debug window in the OR NewYear MG version.


Thank you for the reply. I don't normally use MG, but I will download and try it. I suspect the sound regions do work (or not ..?), But maybe a .SMS file problem. Need to figure this out further. :sign_thanks:

#10 User is offline   Garry 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: 09-March 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails + TSRE5
  • Country:

Posted 05 May 2019 - 02:58 AM

I use the Tile folder copy method quite often. It doesn't matter if you have placed other objects on the tile, they are just left hanging in space until you replace the original tiles.
When I am laying track I usually try to follow the map collected in TSRE.
If I am laying a tunnel or surface track on a gradient, I lay the track on the level and press F to bring the terrain to track level. I continue laying track to the end of the tunnel or gradient. Then I look at heights, what height is the track at, and what should it be, and calculate the gradient required.
Go back to the beginning and replace each track piece on a gradient, pressing F each time.
When I get to the end, I have track at the correct height and following the map.
Replace the Tile folder and the terrain is restored.
Garry

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users