Elvas Tower: How to Change the Sky in OR - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to Change the Sky in OR

#1 User is offline   CrisGer 

  • Executive Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 4,032
  • Joined: 06-October 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado and California
  • Simulator:MSTS OR
  • Country:

Posted 13 March 2019 - 05:23 PM

Hi all
I am hoping to create a custom sky dome and wanted to know how they work in OR.

i undestand that the skydome png file creates the sky but it looks like there is some other file affecting it as the sky has whispy clouds and haze in it and and I want a clear blue pure blue sky all the way to the horizon.

does the Sky fx file cause the cloudieness? are there any latenrative skydomes that will create just a clear sky?

thanks for advice and help on this.

Chris

#2 User is offline   ebnertra000 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 555
  • Joined: 27-February 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East-Central Minnesota
  • Simulator:OR/TSRE
  • Country:

Posted 13 March 2019 - 06:17 PM

The clouds' visibility is controlled by the Clouds01.png file. Transparent = no clouds, grey or white = clouds, and very dark green = tornado-grade clouds

#3 User is offline   CrisGer 

  • Executive Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 4,032
  • Joined: 06-October 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado and California
  • Simulator:MSTS OR
  • Country:

Posted 14 March 2019 - 09:57 AM

thanks very much...how do i adjust those settings? it is a check box in the set up controls somewhere? or textures to change?

thanks again for help on this.

Once i figure it out i can help making some custom skyboxes for use.

Chris

#4 User is offline   ebnertra000 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 555
  • Joined: 27-February 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East-Central Minnesota
  • Simulator:OR/TSRE
  • Country:

Posted 14 March 2019 - 10:20 AM

The clouds image can be edited in any old paint editor. You'll have to experiment for best results, since I haven't played with it all that much

#5 User is offline   scottb613 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 1,349
  • Joined: 06-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:"Upstate" New York
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 March 2019 - 10:54 AM

Hi Folks,

Just a very simple 0,0,0 black works best for the alpha channel in "clouds01" - for nice clear days that eliminates the perpetual overcast - as I replicated Claus's fine work in my skydome uploaded in the beta file library - if you want examples... You're just completely blanking out any texture that would obscure the sun... The hardest part is just finding extremely high res images of the sky to use... If the clouds on the skydome texture are too big - you start seeing waves induced by the flat faces that make up the sphere shape used by the sky... Also - you don't want any sun portrayed on your skydome texture or you'll have two... It takes a bit of work to get the hang of it...

As far the actual logistics of making of a skydome - you first need to make a seamless texture in the horizontal - then use the "distortion" tool to wrap the texture based on polar coordinates... PS and PSP both have the tools to do this fairly efficiently...

Regards,
Scott

#6 User is offline   CrisGer 

  • Executive Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 4,032
  • Joined: 06-October 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado and California
  • Simulator:MSTS OR
  • Country:

Posted 14 March 2019 - 11:16 AM

ah ha ok thanks guys, i thought it might involve changing out the texture for the clouds much appreciate the tips. and thanks Scott i looked for skydomes in the regular libarary but didmt think of the beta side thanks

i have hundreds of high rez sky pics from my work as an artist..which i have been doing for 45 years :)

thanks again

Chris

#7 User is offline   CrisGer 

  • Executive Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 4,032
  • Joined: 06-October 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado and California
  • Simulator:MSTS OR
  • Country:

Posted 15 March 2019 - 07:03 AM

ok thanks all got it working fine thanks again for the help
chris

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users