Elvas Tower: Open Rails 1.3E MonoGame available - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Open Rails 1.3E MonoGame available

#11 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Executive Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 4,857
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 20 November 2018 - 01:36 PM

I'm not an expert, but I think that Linux only is not OK for OR Monogame.

#12 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Owner
  • Posts: 13,507
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 20 November 2018 - 04:03 PM

Carlo, last time I ran a copy of the Monogame version it appeared to be noticeably slower than the .xna version. Do you think that's just the price we have to pay for Monogame, a feature of my PC, or might it be that potential optimization for Monogame in the OR code has not yet been done?

#13 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Executive Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 4,857
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 21 November 2018 - 01:03 PM

Hi Dave,
at least for reasonably up to date computers, there shouldn't be a Monogame-"fee". However I have read in a German forum diverging reports: one player has now the OR MG running slower than the standard version, and the other one gets the opposite result. Do you still have some older OR MG version to make a comparison? That would interest me.

I'm also interested in reports by other people about FPS comparisons between OR MG and OR standard version.

#14 User is offline   Hobo 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 830
  • Joined: 19-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris,Ont- Canada
  • Simulator:OPEN RAILS & MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 21 November 2018 - 03:59 PM

Dave ! I always keep the previous version to compare to each other and OR . My FPS from both MG4222 and MG 1.3E are basically equal . They are both much faster than OR 4315 which is the last version I have installed .
I didn't notice any other differences in any way after the Exhaust Fix , which was a minor visual thing not a performance degradation .
Just my observations on my rig .


#15 User is offline   Lindsayts 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,849
  • Joined: 25-November 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 21 November 2018 - 07:50 PM

View PostCsantucci, on 20 November 2018 - 01:36 PM, said:

I'm not an expert, but I think that Linux only is not OK for OR Monogame.


As I understand it Monogame is system allowing crossplatfrom support for any MIcrosoft XNA4 software and wether OR will run will depend on how good the Linux support for Monogame is (Note: Linux DOES have all the required tools including a C# complier. What is likely requiired is for someone to try and build OR under Linux Monogame.

Note: OR 1.2 is reported to work VERY well under wine on Linux.

Lindsay

#16 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Owner
  • Posts: 13,507
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 21 November 2018 - 08:28 PM

Hobo, please post your CPU speed, the fps and the primitive counts.

#17 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Owner
  • Posts: 13,507
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 21 November 2018 - 10:39 PM

Carlo, I downloaded the MG version and am bewildered about what to do with any of the files. Is there any sort of installation guide?

#18 User is offline   dennisat 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 439
  • Joined: 16-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Open Rails & MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 22 November 2018 - 12:20 AM

View PostGenma Saotome, on 21 November 2018 - 08:28 PM, said:

Hobo, please post your CPU speed, the fps and the primitive counts.


Another figure to look at is the memory usage. My system uses about 40-50% less memory for Monogame compared to XNA.

Dennis

#19 User is offline   mbm_OR 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 196
  • Joined: 03-July 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 22 November 2018 - 12:34 AM

Hi Dave,

Please try to uncheck the "Enable multisampling" option located in the Option/Video tab. It was enabled by default.
There is more info about it here.

Regards,
Mauricio

#20 User is offline   Fablok 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 348
  • Joined: 24-June 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chrzanów (Małopolska)
  • Simulator:MSTS, Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 22 November 2018 - 06:12 AM

Works great :) Mr.Carlo great work as usual :) 350 FPS :)

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users