Elvas Tower: Water Troughs - Elvas Tower

Posting Rules

All new threads will be started by members of the Open Rails team, Staff, and/or Admins. Existing threads started in other forums may get moved here when it makes sense to do so.

Once a thread is started any member may post replies to it.
  • 5 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Water Troughs (or Water Pans as they are called in US) Rate Topic: -----

#21 User is offline   Csantucci 

• Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member

Posted 06 April 2019 - 12:44 AM

I'd suggest that any operation not done as required (e.g. speed too high, water scoop down outside the trough zone) should at least be reported in the activity evalueation.

#22 User is offline   ebnertra000 

• Superintendant
  • Simulator:OR/TSRE

Posted 06 April 2019 - 06:35 AM

I'm no expert on steam...anything...but if the scoop is lowered before entering the water trough, wouldn't the scoop hit the end of the trough, damaging both? It would stand to reason that the water level in the trough could not be higher than the sides and ends, and that therefore one could not lower the scoop before entering the trough, nor could they raise the scoop after leaving it

#23 User is offline   steved 

• Superintendant
  • Simulator:ORMG

Posted 06 April 2019 - 05:26 PM

I seem to remember reading about the NYC Water Level Route and having to slow the train before dropping the scoop because the weight of the water at speed would damage it.
The mind is a funny thing.

Steve

#24 User is offline   darwins 

• Superintendant
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 06 April 2019 - 11:33 PM