Elvas Tower: Missing texture files - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Missing texture files MSTS reports as warning Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Procopius 

  • Hostler
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 04-September 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Microsoft Train Simulator
  • Country:

Posted 07 May 2018 - 06:45 PM

I was trying to add the Trinite Chemical Local activity to the LaSalle, Rockford & Central route, finally tracked down all the rolling stock I needed. A lot of it is from Arkansas Locomotive Works, and I am so gratefule to those guys for making their work available. It's just gorgeous. Anyway, when I started the activity I got several warning messages about "unable to load texture file." I've had this happen before, but I was able to find them in other route folders. I'm missing:
SR_Track_w410f.ace
SR_1tSwt_w_m10dl_NS.s

I presume they're from Scale Rail, but I have all the texture files from their download area installed, as well as Scale Road. None of their packages is more recent than 2015.

Suggestions?
--
Roger

#2 User is offline   espee 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 552
  • Joined: 09-January 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bridgetown, Western Australia
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 07 May 2018 - 07:24 PM

They are from Scale Rail.

I found them in the Siskiyou Route, files are dated 2007 and 2010.

#3 User is offline   Procopius 

  • Hostler
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 04-September 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:Microsoft Train Simulator
  • Country:

Posted 10 May 2018 - 03:37 AM

View Postespee, on 07 May 2018 - 07:24 PM, said:

They are from Scale Rail.

I found them in the Siskiyou Route, files are dated 2007 and 2010.


I found a solution. The problem is caused by installing jjhlsrcc.zip, which is supposed to be an update/upgrade/fix for the original route. Don't know if anybody has found a way to install it. I'm still unable to download the .ace file from 3DTrains, but it no longer matters. I really like the route and am glad I was able to get it back.
--
Roger

#4 User is offline   slipperman 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 602
  • Joined: 09-February 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Nottinghamshire
  • Simulator:MSTS & ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 10 May 2018 - 04:30 AM

Hi Roger,
One of the main purposes of Forums like this is the sharing of information between its members! In that respect, it might help others if you would divulge your "solution" :)

As for file jjhlsrcc.zip, it isn't installed. Unpack the archive, then copy the resulting files and folders into your existing LSR&C route folder, allowing overwrites. I'm assuming you're NOT running the "modern" version of the route.

To download files for ScaleRail/ScaleRoad from 3DTrains, you first need to log in to the Forum.

Cheers,
Ged

#5 User is offline   Jovet 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,136
  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha, Nebraska.
  • Simulator:MSTS/Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 17 May 2018 - 04:49 AM

I am the author of the JJHLSRCC.ZIP update for that route.

The SR_1tSwt_w_m10dl_NS.s file is not a texture file. It's a track shape in the standard ScaleRail installation package. The ScaleRail installer I have is from 2007, and installs a similarly-dated file. Like all track files, if installed correctly, file should be in the Global\Shapes folder.

SR_Track_w410f.ace is a texture file which exists but I do not have in my copy of the route, either. The above shape does not call for it. I may be going (gone) crazy, but I thought I did run across a shape that did call for that file which I originally thought was the one above, but it calls for "b" and not "f". But, again, my version of the route should not need that file. It's not present in my copy and it works just fine.

There is a second and completely separate "update" of that route floating around, and it does have that texture file present. I cannot find the install files for it, so I can't recall if it's a full route or an "upgrade" like mine is, and whether it comes with that file.

Is it only my version you're installing (on top of the original route)?

#6 User is offline   espee 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 552
  • Joined: 09-January 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bridgetown, Western Australia
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 17 May 2018 - 05:29 AM

SR_Track_w410f.ace is for the switch machine attached to SR_1tSwt_w_m10dl_NS.s

and probably other SR switches ?

#7 User is offline   Jovet 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,136
  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha, Nebraska.
  • Simulator:MSTS/Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 17 May 2018 - 06:03 AM

View Postespee, on 17 May 2018 - 05:29 AM, said:

SR_Track_w410f.ace is for the switch machine attached to SR_1tSwt_w_m10dl_NS.s

The "_NS" is for "No Switch" — SR_1tSwt_w_m10dl_NS.s does not have a switch machine or switch stand on its model.

#8 User is offline   espee 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 552
  • Joined: 09-January 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bridgetown, Western Australia
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 17 May 2018 - 06:12 AM

Are we talking about the same switch ?

This one seems to me to have a switch machine ?

Attached File  switch.jpg (208.95K)
Number of downloads: 2

#9 User is offline   Jovet 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,136
  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha, Nebraska.
  • Simulator:MSTS/Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 17 May 2018 - 06:34 AM

View Postespee, on 17 May 2018 - 06:12 AM, said:

Are we talking about the same switch ?

It sure doesn't look like it.

http://msts.jovet.net/files/images/SR_1tSwt_w_m10dl_NS.png

#10 User is offline   Jovet 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,136
  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha, Nebraska.
  • Simulator:MSTS/Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 17 May 2018 - 06:59 AM

I have downloaded the latest edition of ScaleRail from Marc's forums.

That shape has been changed and updated since the ScaleRail edition I downloaded way back when to now. Apparently I haven't kept up with the times.

The shape I showed was the ScaleRail edition when my patch was released. Since the shape has changed, that's going to look a bit odd with my switch machine shape at the same spot Marc's is...

It also looks like Marc sent Procopius the texture file on his forums, so all should be well now?

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users