Elvas Tower: NaN and manual firing x4001 -4034 - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

NaN and manual firing x4001 -4034 OR freezes, hud filled with NaN. vacuum brakes

#1 User is offline   rickloader 

  • Fireman
  • Group: First Class
  • Posts: 136
  • Joined: 05-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton uk
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 24 January 2018 - 03:42 PM

Hi, In manual firing mode, after about 4 minutes the display freezes, and the F5 Hud loco data fills with NaN.
In timetable mode and manual firing the F5 dispatcher shows the other trains continuing to move.
With automatic fireman and the same parameters, there is no problem.
I have tried x4001 x4007 x4026 x4018 x4034 - all are affected.
I`m using various locos with msts .eng and vacuum brakes
However no problem with, the ctn test route with MN35009 ,manual firing and air brakes .
Here is a log from the UKTS Lyme Regis Branch and Vacuum brakes.
I tried searching ET for NaN but no luck. perhaps the term is too short
rick

edit: disconnected and the log was lost

Attached File(s)



#2 User is offline   steamer_ctn 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 779
  • Joined: 24-June 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 24 January 2018 - 07:03 PM

NaN = not a number. This means that a calculation has gone way out of tolerance.

I will have a look at the problem and try and fix it, if I can reproduce the problem.

Therefore, can you:
i) provide a screenshot as soon as NaNs start appearing?
ii) provide test stock that exhibits the problem
iii) provide a step by step process for me to recreate the problem on my development PC.

Thanks

#3 User is offline   rickloader 

  • Fireman
  • Group: First Class
  • Posts: 136
  • Joined: 05-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton uk
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 25 January 2018 - 02:30 AM

Hi Peter
1) attached screenshot of NaN about 4 min into a timetable mode activity. Manual firing about 4 min after start. Computer fresh after restart, lots of spare memory, processing etc.
2) stock detail on next post
3)This is on my WIP development route. But other locos, stock, routes all freeze, every time, with NaN. The common factor is manual firing and vacuum brakes.
I have tried UKTS lyme Regis Branch, Bats Southern Region payware route, and my own Watersnake route.
As I said, no probs on a separate install of CTN test route with an airbrake loco MN35009
thanks for looking at this, rick

Attached thumbnail(s)

  • Attached Image: NaNBasingstoke.jpg


#4 User is offline   rickloader 

  • Fireman
  • Group: First Class
  • Posts: 136
  • Joined: 05-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton uk
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 25 January 2018 - 02:50 AM

Here are sample .eng and .wag files.
Peter, In case you are wondering why I`m not using your updated vacuum brakes : I certainly intend to, but at the moment I`m working on completing my own route extension. I need to learn how to make OR include files. Your CTN site will be a great help, and the sample files look very useful.
So I`m not committed to MSTS compatablity : they are just readily available. Thank you for developing vacuum brakes - much appreciated.
Has anyone else encountered this problem?
rick

Attached File(s)



#5 User is offline   steamer_ctn 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 779
  • Joined: 24-June 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 25 January 2018 - 12:57 PM

Thanks for that.

Can you add the consist file?

I will add it to my list of to dos.

#6 User is offline   rickloader 

  • Fireman
  • Group: First Class
  • Posts: 136
  • Joined: 05-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton uk
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 25 January 2018 - 01:59 PM

I will discuss Peter`s requirements for investigation by PM. ( sending stock files)
Please could another user test a vacuum braked loco with manual firing (ctrl + F). Then we can establish whether this is a general problem, or just a peculiarity of mine.
thanks, rick

#7 User is offline   steamer_ctn 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 779
  • Joined: 24-June 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 25 January 2018 - 10:42 PM

Hi Rick,

I think that I have identified the problem and corrected it in #4043.

Interestingly, it should have affected air brake locomotives as well, as it was an issue with the burnrate. But probably was dependent upon the loco setup.

Please give #4043 a go, and confirm that problem has now been resolved.

Thanks

#8 User is offline   rickloader 

  • Fireman
  • Group: First Class
  • Posts: 136
  • Joined: 05-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton uk
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 26 January 2018 - 06:58 AM

Thanks for the fix Peter!
I`ve completed several hours driving and manual firing with x4043, and no sign of a NaN.
rick



Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users