• You cannot reply to this topic

Route-Specific Precipitation Textures and Fall Speed Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   PerryPlatypus 

• Fireman
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Access 1 Open Rails Forums
  • Simulator:Open Rails

Posted 25 December 2017 - 10:41 PM

I have been playing around with the snow flake texture to make it much smaller and grayer. The only thing left to make it look very realistic to my eyes is to slow it way down, like to 30 or 40 percent of the current speed.

Problem is, I have no idea where to look to change the speed of the flakes. I fear it is buried deep in the source files, which I have zero experience with.

Either way, I think it would be a big benefit if we can start to have features like these customizable. Rather than adding another item in the menu, I think this ought to something we can make route specific. Custom PNG files for the snowflake and rain drop could be placed in some folder in the route (I'll leave that up to the developers to decide) and an item in the TRK file could define speeds for rain and snow fall. This way a route creator could create what they think looks good for their own route and distribute it that way without the need for the end user to overwrite their files for the main program. The same should apply to the sky dome files, starmaps, etc. as well (the option to be route-specific).