Elvas Tower: More engines on the locomotive - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

More engines on the locomotive debate - idea

#1 User is offline   Howky 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 177
  • Joined: 14-February 13
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2017 - 02:31 AM

Hello

I would like to open a debate on more engines on the locomotive.

I have, for example, a Czech 714 engine with two engines. And I can switch on both engines individually.

and now I have a question - open rails can simulate two or more engines = yes

but can I simulate this second engine for this? I do not think so, it would be something to ask a question about programmers :)

smoke from the exhaust?
sounds for the second motor
start / stop 2 of the engine
indicators, oil, watter, pressure, engine speed

#2 User is offline   Howky 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 177
  • Joined: 14-February 13
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2017 - 02:33 AM

here is a demonstration of a second engine on the locomotive

comment (** Diesel 1 **)
ORTSDieselEngines ( 2
Diesel (
IdleRPM ( 650 )
MaxRPM ( 1800 )
StartingRPM ( 120 )
StartingConfirmRPM ( 660 )
ChangeUpRPMpS ( 37 )
ChangeDownRPMpS ( 35 )
RateOfChangeUpRPMpSS ( 50 )
RateOfChangeDownRPMpSS ( 50 )
MaximalPower ( 260kW )
IdleExhaust ( 1.2 )
MaxExhaust ( 3.8 )
ExhaustDynamics ( 4.2 )
ExhaustColor ( 15FF00FF )
ExhaustTransientColor ( 90EAf9FF )
DieselPowerTab (
0 0
650 11000
1800 260000
)
DieselConsumptionTab (
0 0
650 1.6
1800 73.8
)
ThrottleRPMTab (
0 650
3 818
14 818
15 989
29 989
30 1134
42 1134
43 1354
61 1354
62 1512
74 1512
75 1599
82 1599
83 1695
90 1695
91 1800
100 1800
)
DieselTorqueTab (
0 0
650 161.62
1800 1379.44
)
MinOilPressure ( 36.20 )
MaxOilPressure ( 88 )
MaxTemperature ( 90 )
Cooling ( 0 )
TempTimeConstant ( 300 )
OptTemperature ( 60 )
IdleTemperature ( 40 )
)
comment (** Diesel 2 **)
Diesel (
IdleRPM ( 650 )
MaxRPM ( 1800 )
StartingRPM ( 120 )
StartingConfirmRPM ( 660 )
ChangeUpRPMpS ( 37 )
ChangeDownRPMpS ( 35 )
RateOfChangeUpRPMpSS ( 50 )
RateOfChangeDownRPMpSS ( 50 )
MaximalPower ( 260kW )
IdleExhaust ( 1.2 )
MaxExhaust ( 3.8 )
ExhaustDynamics ( 4.2 )
ExhaustColor ( 15FF00FF )
ExhaustTransientColor ( 90EAf9FF )
DieselPowerTab (
0 0
650 11000
1800 260000
)
DieselConsumptionTab (
0 0
650 1.6
1800 73.8
)
ThrottleRPMTab (
0 650
3 818
14 818
15 989
29 989
30 1134
42 1134
43 1354
61 1354
62 1512
74 1512
75 1599
82 1599
83 1695
90 1695
91 1800
100 1800
)
DieselTorqueTab (
0 0
650 161.62
1800 1379.44
)
MinOilPressure ( 36.20 )
MaxOilPressure ( 88 )
MaxTemperature ( 90 )
Cooling ( 0 )
TempTimeConstant ( 300 )
OptTemperature ( 60 )
IdleTemperature ( 40 )
)
)

#3 User is offline   R H Steele 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,852
  • Joined: 14-March 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:known universe
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2017 - 10:26 AM

Just an addition to Howky's question. The second diesel engine is treated as a helper ( on/off Ctrl+Y), if the lead loco has two (or more) ORTSDieselEngines, plus is MU'd to other locomotives, when shutting off the 2nd ORTSEngine, all the other locomotives are also shut off.
Wouldn't it be more logical to have a different control to shut down the 2nd ORTSDieselEngines, leaving Ctrl+Y to control the separate helper locomotives?
Howky, my apologies for hooking on to your question and being http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/offtopic.gif, Gerry.

#4 User is offline   Howky 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 177
  • Joined: 14-February 13
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 November 2017 - 02:49 PM

R H Steele :)
I'm glad someone got involved :)

https://s26.postimg.org/zfm8bfo9l/uk_zka.png

#5 User is offline   copperpen 

  • Vice President
  • Group: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,628
  • Joined: 08-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS & OR
  • Country:

Posted 15 November 2017 - 01:16 AM

If it is possible to do in ORTS, the MS flight sim 2004 is able to select individual engines by using CTRL plus the engine number 1 to 4. Doing it in this way means you can select the engine and apply the standard key for start/stop. No need to use extra keys for the purpose.

It is also rather silly to regard extra engines in a locomotive as helpers when clearly they are not.

#6 User is offline   Howky 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 177
  • Joined: 14-February 13
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 15 November 2017 - 02:17 AM

Those keyboard shortcuts I wrote so you are just for the show :)

Otherwise, for example, the Czech locomotives allow to switch off the second locomotive from the first locomotive

#7 User is offline   Howky 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Active Member
  • Posts: 177
  • Joined: 14-February 13
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted Yesterday, 11:02 AM

Nobody else?

#8 User is offline   Mike B 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 870
  • Joined: 18-January 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Simulator:Mostly ORTS these days
  • Country:

Posted Yesterday, 08:35 PM

There are many twin-engine US diesels too. Until the 1960s (with a few conspicuous exceptions like the FM Trainmaster and a few Alcos) it was necessary to have more than one engine to significantly exceed 2000hp. All EMD E-type passenger units are twin-engine in each unit. Later on, there were of course the DD35 and DD40 locomotives built for UP (essentially two normal locomotives - pair of GP40s in the DD40 case - on a raft).

Ordinarily, both engines are running, which produce the appropriate horsepower based on the locomotive's rating. Yes, it's possible (but usually done only because of some problem) to run with one engine, at half power. The easy way to handle that is to have 2 .eng files - one for full power and one for half power - and choose one for an activity. However, that makes it impossible to simulate engine failure while on the road.

Probably for V.3 if not 2.x planning, it would be worthwhile to not only be able to manage the number of engines per unit (and the resulting unit horsepower) in real time, but also cutting traction motors in or out per-axle, and managing individual helpers (it's not unusual for some - but not all - helpers to be cut out while running on the flats, then be started when coming to a grade for which they're needed).

For modern passenger locomotives, it would also be appropriate to consider real-time switching on/off of head-end-power. In some cases, it's a separate genset on the locomotive (appropriate changes to sound and possibly exhaust needed), and in others like the F40 the power comes off the main generator requiring the engine to run at full speed all the time, and reducing the power available for traction. In the F40 case, it's been handled before in MSTS by providing separate .eng files for the different conditions; as with twin-engine (for traction) diesels, it would be nice for making realistic activities to do that in real time also.

Here's an activity concept for modern passenger trains (based on something that actually happened to a train I was on): hotbox indication at speed requiring that the train be immediately slowed and then stopped asap and inspected. Train stopped at the next available siding (holding the main). Inspected and found that the hotbox was real, requiring removal of the diner (the last car on the train, luckily). Had to wait for several freight trains to pass first, then shut down the HEP, uncoupled the power and ran around the train; pulled the diner and placed it in a m/w spur at the siding; then ran back to the front, coupled up, restarted the HEP, and proceeded. The HEP shutdown/startup took a while, as it of course also involved disconnecting and reconnecting all the of the cables and hoses. At night. Total delay in the real-world case I experienced was about 2 hours. The diner stayed in the m/w siding for at least 2 weeks, up on cribbing with the trucks (bogies) removed (apparently the hotbox did some damage); went over there on bike rides after work a couple of times to look.

Another point that's been mentioned before is adding helpers enroute during an activity. MSTS could handle that; does ORTS?

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users