Elvas Tower: Going beyond the 4 GB of memory - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 32 Pages +
  • « First
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Going beyond the 4 GB of memory Rate Topic: -----

#151 User is online   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,490
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2017 - 12:14 PM

View PostCsantucci, on 23 November 2017 - 01:50 AM, said:

Another point: does it make sense to switch from DirectX to OpenGL ? (I don't have however the intention to work on that. I had some trial, arrived up to rendering the first simulation screen - by cutting out some functions however - but the simulation didn't update it).

What sort of things would be needed to make OpenGL work? I thought that one of the advantages of MonoGame was that it provided a reasonably sane API on top of both so that it didn't really matter what was being used (except maybe for the shaders?).

In any case, although we would need to use OpenGL on non-Windows platforms, I'd prefer we kept to DirectX on Windows if possible (thus finding out what's needed for OpenGL is definitely helpful, but not critical for the MonoGame switch).

#152 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,996
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2017 - 12:17 PM

View PostJames Ross, on 23 November 2017 - 12:14 PM, said:

What sort of things would be needed to make OpenGL work? I thought that one of the advantages of MonoGame was that it provided a reasonably sane API on top of both so that it didn't really matter what was being used (except maybe for the shaders?).

In any case, although we would need to use OpenGL on non-Windows platforms, I'd prefer we kept to DirectX on Windows if possible (thus finding out what's needed for OpenGL is definitely helpful, but not critical for the MonoGame switch).

What I noticed is e.g. that direct graphics calls without passing through XNA are no more possible.

#153 User is offline   Goku 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,785
  • Joined: 12-December 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:my own
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2017 - 12:51 PM

OpenGL is better choice even for windows. For example new OpenGL still works on windows XP and new DirectX not.

#154 User is offline   SP 0-6-0 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 985
  • Joined: 12-November 05
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Another planet.
  • Simulator:MSTS/ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2017 - 01:49 PM

OpenGL might just be the better option. It should also be possible to have a Linux port in the future?

Robert

#155 User is online   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,490
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2017 - 02:11 PM

View PostCsantucci, on 23 November 2017 - 12:17 PM, said:

What I noticed is e.g. that direct graphics calls without passing through XNA are no more possible.

I don't really understand what you mean here; can you point to a particular example?

#156 User is online   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,490
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2017 - 02:37 PM

View PostGoku, on 23 November 2017 - 12:51 PM, said:

OpenGL is better choice even for windows. For example new OpenGL still works on windows XP and new DirectX not.

We are dropping Windows XP no matter what we use for graphics, because we're also going to be using a newer version of .NET (4.5 IIRC).

View PostSP 0-6-0, on 23 November 2017 - 01:49 PM, said:

OpenGL might just be the better option. It should also be possible to have a Linux port in the future?

As far as I am aware, MonoGame supports OpenGL on Linux no matter whether you use their OpenGL or DirectX support on Windows, although their documentation is absolutely terrible.

#157 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner Emeritus and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 15,336
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2017 - 03:16 PM

If it would be of any help I can offer a test environment where the object primitive count is >3X larger than the highest value I saw in any of the screenshots above (>13,000 vs. 4300) and adding loose consists can drive that higher. That would provide you w/ something to assess the effect a more demanding scene will have by going to Monogame.
Attached Image: fps.jpg
So long as I don't need to compile anything I could do the test and return results on a 1 day turnaround.

#158 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,996
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 24 November 2017 - 12:24 AM

Thanks Dave,
you only have to download the pack from the link within this post http://www.elvastowe...post__p__228833 , unzip it and you have a complete OR MG pack ready to run. If you will proceed, please share with us a screenshot with both the Enable Multisampling video option checked and unchecked, and evaluate also the video quality compared with that of the standard OR version.

#159 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,996
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 24 November 2017 - 12:37 AM

View PostJames Ross, on 23 November 2017 - 02:11 PM, said:

I don't really understand what you mean here; can you point to a particular example?

Yes. I remember there was more than one issue about this, but for sure there is the following one. In RenderProcess.cs I had to add following lines, because MG shifts right down the OR window
+            if (screen.Primary)
+            {
+                var wa = Screen.PrimaryScreen.WorkingArea;
+                GameForm.Location = new System.Drawing.Point((wa.Right - GameWindowSize.X) / 2, (wa.Bottom - GameWindowSize.Y) / 2);
+            }
+            else
+                GameForm.Location = new System.Drawing.Point((screen.Bounds.Width - GameWindowSize.X) / 2, (screen.Bounds.Height - GameWindowSize.Y) / 2);
+            GameWindowOrigin = GameForm.Location;

These lines create problems (I don't remember whether crash or what) in the MG OpenGL version.

#160 User is offline   Eldorado.Railroad 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 977
  • Joined: 31-May 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 25 November 2017 - 08:55 PM

View PostCsantucci, on 23 November 2017 - 10:48 AM, said:

Here http://www.interazio...e/OR3989_MG.zip an OR MG version can be downloaded where such video option is present.


I am having no luck here with Win7-64 bit.

When "runactivity" is run from the "menu" program I get this error:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: runactivity.exe
Problem Signature 02: 0.0.6536.32724
Problem Signature 03: 5a17011c
Problem Signature 04: MonoGame.Framework
Problem Signature 05: 0.0.0.0
Problem Signature 06: 59fce0ce
Problem Signature 07: 72d
Problem Signature 08: 14
Problem Signature 09: System.TypeLoadException
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Any ideas?

  • 32 Pages +
  • « First
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users