Elvas Tower: Switching between F5 positions - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Switching between F5 positions Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   thegrindre 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 8,349
  • Joined: 10-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Now in central Arkansas
  • Simulator:MSTS & Trainz '04 & Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 18 March 2017 - 02:22 PM

Hi all,
Just a simple MSTS question.
Is there a way to jump from one F5 view to another? My passenger train has a couple of coaches with cab views. How do I jump from one coach to another coach?
http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/sign_thank_you.gif

http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/oldstry.gif

#2 User is offline   hiball3985 

  • Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,521
  • Joined: 21-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tujunga, Calif
  • Simulator:msts
  • Country:

Posted 18 March 2017 - 03:20 PM

Rick, use F9 to open the window with the consist, click on the coach you choose, then hit F5

#3 User is offline   thegrindre 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 8,349
  • Joined: 10-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Now in central Arkansas
  • Simulator:MSTS & Trainz '04 & Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 18 March 2017 - 06:58 PM

OK, got it.
Now, how do I detach the camera view? http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/wtf01.gif I don't care how many times you tell me, I just can't seem to remember, Jim. http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/fool.gif

http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/oldstry.gif

#4 User is offline   hiball3985 

  • Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,521
  • Joined: 21-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tujunga, Calif
  • Simulator:msts
  • Country:

Posted 19 March 2017 - 05:01 AM

OOOPS, I meant the #5 key not F5, sorry.. What do you mean by detach?

#5 User is offline   Hobo 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 905
  • Joined: 19-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris,Ont- Canada
  • Simulator:OPEN RAILS & MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 19 March 2017 - 07:21 AM

I always put a passenger view in each engine and passenger car . Then I use the view in the locomotive for an inside left view and if you push #5 repeatedly you can walk back through the whole consist similar to a conductor taking tickets .
You can also sit in some boxcars with open doors - just like a Hobo and go for a ride .
Works for me .

#6 User is offline   hiball3985 

  • Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,521
  • Joined: 21-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tujunga, Calif
  • Simulator:msts
  • Country:

Posted 19 March 2017 - 08:57 AM

:I-Agree: I put passenger views in Gondolas, unrestricted 360 degree view

Hitting #5 repeatedly to switch cars has never worked for me.. Is that an OR thing?

#7 User is offline   thegrindre 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 8,349
  • Joined: 10-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Now in central Arkansas
  • Simulator:MSTS & Trainz '04 & Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 19 March 2017 - 09:32 AM

Hitting #5 repeatedly doesn't work for me either. This is a MSTS thread, ya know. http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/pleasantry.gif


Lose camera. Unattached camera. Free roam camera. I don't know what to call it, Jim.

http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/oldstry.gif

#8 User is offline   hiball3985 

  • Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,521
  • Joined: 21-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tujunga, Calif
  • Simulator:msts
  • Country:

Posted 19 March 2017 - 03:31 PM

View Postthegrindre, on 19 March 2017 - 09:32 AM, said:

Hitting #5 repeatedly doesn't work for me either. This is a MSTS thread, ya know. http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/pleasantry.gif


Lose camera. Unattached camera. Free roam camera. I don't know what to call it, Jim.

http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/oldstry.gif
I call it unlocked, but thats not right either :unknw:

Ctrl+Shift+9 should do it

Also if you use the #4 view using the same keys as above will let you lock the camera and watch the whole train go by without panning

#9 User is offline   thegrindre 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 8,349
  • Joined: 10-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Now in central Arkansas
  • Simulator:MSTS & Trainz '04 & Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 19 March 2017 - 08:12 PM

YEAH! That's it. http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/sign_thank_you.gif

http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/oldstry.gif

#10 User is offline   jkcooney 

  • Hostler
  • Group: Status: R.I.P. or just Retired
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 09-March 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 18 August 2017 - 07:15 PM

View Posthiball3985, on 19 March 2017 - 03:31 PM, said:

I call it unlocked, but thats not right either :unknw:

Ctrl+Shift+9 should do it

Also if you use the #4 view using the same keys as above will let you lock the camera and watch the whole train go by without panning

I had never heard of (or didn't recall) the Ctrl+Shift+4 to freeze the panning effect of that key. Very helpful and useful when I want
to check the consist. Does hitting the #4 key independently "bail out" of that freeze? jc

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users