Elvas Tower: Forest Region Clear Of Roads - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Forest Region Clear Of Roads Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   TSCraftsman 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Dispatcher
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 29-December 14
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 12 February 2017 - 08:30 PM

I know this is definetly not a priority just wondering if it would be possible program OR to have roads clear of forest regions similar how it works with tracks with the following line in the .trk

ORTSUserPreferenceForestClearDistance ( 15)

Thanks inadvance

#2 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,027
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 13 February 2017 - 08:04 AM

Hi TSCraftsman,
here are the modified .exe and .dll files for the feature you request. Pls. check them, by replacing them in release x.3794 (Pls. spare me to find a route with trees on roads or to build a test route).
To enable the feature you must add following line below ORTSUserPreferenceForestClearDistance ( 15):
ORTSUserPreferenceRemoveForestTreesFromRoads ( 1 )



It is not possible to remove trees only from roads and not from tracks.

Blueprint opened https://blueprints.l...rees-from-roads

20/2/2017: Attachment removed because feature implemented in x.3800 .

#3 User is offline   Coolhand101 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 953
  • Joined: 13-June 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 13 February 2017 - 08:14 AM

View PostCsantucci, on 13 February 2017 - 08:04 AM, said:

(Pls. spare me to find a route with trees on roads or to build a test route).


Dorset coast v6 between weymouth and bincombe tunnel( 1st tunnel ). I did notice this when the trees on track was fixed. However i didn't think it was relevant at the time as the former fix was a huge success!

Thanks

#4 User is offline   Coolhand101 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 953
  • Joined: 13-June 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 13 February 2017 - 08:52 AM

Just done a quick test on the area in Dorset coast V6. There were was quite a few trees on certain parts of the roads for the above area. With the modified exe and dll files, the trees are no longer present on any of the roads for that area.

Thanks

#5 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,027
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 13 February 2017 - 09:37 AM

Thank you for having spared me the testing :)

#6 User is offline   eolesen 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Private - Open Rails Developer
  • Posts: 1,012
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 February 2017 - 08:01 AM

How CPU intensive is this? Reason I ask... I have a large section of a route (20+ miles) which is pure forest, and had half considered placing forest objects programatically on the tiles vs. individual placements.

#7 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,027
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 14 February 2017 - 09:54 AM

If you go back to the original thread where we spoke about removing trees from track I believe to remember there was some number. Of course it highly depends on the density of tracks, roads and forests within a single tile. Adding road checking to track checking should not increase too much the CPU load, because there usually are much less roads than tracks defined (especially in a forest).

#8 User is offline   Goku 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,767
  • Joined: 12-December 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:my own
  • Country:

Posted 14 February 2017 - 10:11 AM

In TSRE forest generation can be 10x slower if this option is enabled in really track dense tiles.
TSRE stats for 1 000 000 trees:
500 ms if "clear" disabled = 2 mln trees / s
6000 ms if "clear" enabled = 166 k trees / s

Test scene:
http://i.imgur.com/eFzaM6v.png

I'm curious about OR stats.

#9 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,027
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 14 February 2017 - 10:19 AM

Yes, but the important thing is to know the percentage of forest generation vs. the whole OR computing time.

#10 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,027
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 19 February 2017 - 11:50 PM

Uploaded in x.3800.

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users