Elvas Tower: Station clocks - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 6 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Station clocks Creating clocks to synchronize with simulation

#1 User is offline   NF1-800 

  • Hostler
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: 11-October 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS and ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 13 December 2016 - 04:04 PM

This might sound a bit off but why not asking. At least from my point of view, a clock is the station's most important accessory, of course along with the timetable and others. 1st of all i have no idea what are the limits in making new features in Open Rails but this is what came into my mind...creating clocks for stations/platforms that synchronize with the actual time in the simulation. I am not sure how this could be done or if it can be done, but i am thinking at 2 types of clocks, the old style arm clock and digital type. In what manner could the information be sent to a simple object is above my knowledge. All i am thinking of is having an organized hierarchy in that object that can receive information from the simulation time, but...how to send that information to it in order to animate?. Sorry if i am asking too much.

#2 User is offline   Coolhand101 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 905
  • Joined: 13-June 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 13 December 2016 - 04:13 PM

I was thinking this not too long ago. One of my routes has a static digital clock showing a time of day and a time of night. Would be nice to see these clocks showing real sim time!

Thanks

#3 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,143
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 14 December 2016 - 01:46 AM

That's a nice idea.

#4 User is offline   EricF 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: 07-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New England
  • Simulator:Open Rails / Sometimes MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 14 December 2016 - 04:25 AM

I like that idea. Clocks are "part of the landscape" at railway stations -- from the big, old-fashioned ones sometimes placed on a tower attached to the station to be seen from a distance, to the multitude of highly visible digital clocks along the platforms of commuter lines.

I'm thinking there would have to be a defined animation object that could be attached/included as part of 3D scenery/structures. We can have animated scenery objects, so that's probably a start. It would have to be defined as a clock and have a means to get input from the simulation's in-world time. Could it get the time in the same way as a digital clock display in a locomotive cab?

#5 User is offline   thegrindre 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 8,347
  • Joined: 10-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Now in central Arkansas
  • Simulator:MSTS & Trainz '04 & Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 14 December 2016 - 06:30 PM

Total waste of good resources, IMHO. Nobody is going to stand around and watch a clock, so what matter does it make what time it is? It would be a total waste of resources.

http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/oldstry.gif

#6 User is offline   Lindsayts 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,849
  • Joined: 25-November 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 15 December 2016 - 12:02 AM

View Postthegrindre, on 14 December 2016 - 06:30 PM, said:

Total waste of good resources, IMHO. Nobody is going to stand around and watch a clock, so what matter does it make what time it is? It would be a total waste of resources.

http://www.elvastower.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/oldstry.gif



Its no more a waste of resources than almost any high detailed graphics in a train sim, it would be nice though if there was a general animation format where a developer could easily animate anything mechanical as one can do in OpenBVE.

Lindsay

#7 User is offline   EricF 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: 07-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New England
  • Simulator:Open Rails / Sometimes MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 15 December 2016 - 03:48 AM

I think the general idea is to have station and platform clocks display the current sim time, the same as you'd get from the clock found in the "Next Station" display in the sim. It matters for passenger, particularly commuter and urban corridor routes. Not as important on wayside scenery or freight routes. But still worthwhile for realism where it's appropriate.

#8 User is offline   timothyskinner 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 274
  • Joined: 18-September 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:msts
  • Country:

Posted 15 December 2016 - 06:35 AM

Local time, railway time or standard time?

http://www.bristolpo...98-detail/story

#9 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Superintendant
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 1,921
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 15 December 2016 - 11:23 AM

View PostLindsayts, on 15 December 2016 - 12:02 AM, said:

a general animation format where a developer could easily animate anything mechanical as one can do in OpenBVE

Do you where I can find details of this?

Thanks,

#10 User is offline   Lindsayts 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,849
  • Joined: 25-November 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 15 December 2016 - 12:00 PM

View Postcjakeman, on 15 December 2016 - 11:23 AM, said:

Do you where I can find details of this?

Thanks,



The Attachment below contains the Docs for the Animated and the CSV file formats also the source code for AnimatedObjectParser.cs

This is from an older version of openBVE



There are two main OpenBVE sites.......

http://openbve-project.net/

and

https://sites.google...openbvesim/home

I cannot at this stage find the complete docs, the above are stated to be out of date, but the seem to match the source code. I found it easy to read both the Docs and the code and I believe show great promise.OpenBVE states any of there code can be reused as long as it is made clear the reused code is NO LONGER part of openBVE.

Note: I do have the complete docs and source for this particular version of openBVE, it is now several years old, but there's only a couple of people working on it now and not a lot of movement.

Lindsay

  • 6 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users