Elvas Tower: Include problem - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Include problem Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is online   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner Emeritus and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 15,350
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 10 July 2014 - 03:24 PM

I've been making a lot of changes, for the most part stubbing my toes as I go. Here's another foot mid-swing: Is this my goof or Open Rails?

The OR Log -- the first line says unexpected ")" when looking for a measurement... found in line 6:
Attached Image: e1.jpg


The relevant .wag file:
Attached Image: e2.jpg


The relevant include file:
Attached Image: e3.jpg

The error message says it is trying to obtain a numeric value used for dimensioning -- length for instance -- and having marked it for line 6 it appears to be having a problem with something in the .inc file... all of the dimensioning values in that include file (3rd image) look ok to me.

Anybody see anything funky?

#2 User is offline   rdamurphy 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Private - Open Rails Developer
  • Posts: 1,199
  • Joined: 04-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thornton, CO
  • Simulator:MSTS - OR
  • Country:

Posted 10 July 2014 - 03:38 PM

The third picture isn't the one that's being referenced.

You're include is "RS-Rr40_Mesh_Dimensions.inc" which is where the error would be.

Your last I shows a wag file?

Robert

#3 User is online   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner Emeritus and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 15,350
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 10 July 2014 - 03:51 PM

 rdamurphy, on 10 July 2014 - 03:38 PM, said:

The third picture isn't the one that's being referenced.

You're include is "RS-Rr40_Mesh_Dimensions.inc" which is where the error would be.

Your last I shows a wag file?

Robert


The image is misleading... ignore the label on the tab (it's an unselected gray tab, not selected white, and just happened to be in that position after I squeezed the editor window). The file shown is "RS-Rr40_Mesh_Dimensions.inc" -- note the comment in line 1.

#4 User is offline   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,491
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 11 July 2014 - 01:41 AM

 Genma Saotome, on 10 July 2014 - 03:24 PM, said:

The error message says it is trying to obtain a numeric value used for dimensioning -- length for instance -- and having marked it for line 6 it appears to be having a problem with something in the .inc file... all of the dimensioning values in that include file (3rd image) look ok to me.

Anybody see anything funky?


I don't see anything odd in the files, but it does seem a bit odd where it is reporting the error. If the problem is in the included file, I would expect it to show the filename and line of that file. I won't be able to look at this for the next couple of weeks but if we do establish that the reported warning is in the included file, I'll try and fix the location information.

#5 User is offline   cr-stagg 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 909
  • Joined: 16-May 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:OR
  • Country:

Posted 11 July 2014 - 01:54 AM

What happens when you replace the Include line with the contents of the include?

#6 User is online   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner Emeritus and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 15,350
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 11 July 2014 - 08:08 AM

 cr-stagg, on 11 July 2014 - 01:54 AM, said:

What happens when you replace the Include line with the contents of the include?


Excellent suggestion Charles and it turns up the villain (and it was inside the include file... coincidentally on the same line number as Include() is in the root block):

ORTSTrackGauge (56.5in )


Judging by the error message I'll wager the code is either looking for two values before the closing parenthesis or fails to understand that "in" means inches.

#7 User is offline   cr-stagg 

  • Foreman Of Engines
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 909
  • Joined: 16-May 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:OR
  • Country:

Posted 11 July 2014 - 10:27 AM

Try 33/2in or 16.5in.

#8 User is online   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner Emeritus and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 15,350
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 11 July 2014 - 10:36 AM

 cr-stagg, on 11 July 2014 - 10:27 AM, said:

Try 33/2in or 16.5in.


No, it's not wheels, it is Track Gauge. It's either looking for ( 4ft 8.5in ) or is getting hung up over the "in" string in (56.5in). Either way, it's a bug.

And FWIW, good project data standards should never allow a single parameter to hold multiple data using different units of measure (e.g., "( 4ft 8.5in )"). Either set up two parameters (one for each unit of measure) or one parameter that accepts one value having one unit of measure -- 56.5in, 4.708333ft, 143.51cm, etc. etc.

#9 User is online   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner Emeritus and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 15,350
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 11 July 2014 - 10:41 AM

A different problem... this time w/ Mass(). Given this .inc file:
	Comment ( Reefer_Load_Cantalopes_Full_Ice.inc )

	Comment ( Cantaloupes 11 US Tons )
	Comment ( Lettuce 12 US tons )
	Comment ( Tomatoes 13 US Tons )
	Comment ( Grapes 16 US tons )
	Comment ( Potatoes 19 US Tons )
	Comment ( Lemons 19 US Tons )
	Comment ( Oranges 22 US Tons )

	Comment ( Full Stage Icing 10 US tons )
	Comment ( Half Stage Icing  5 US Tons )
	Comment ( Ventilation no Ice 0 US Tons )

	Mass ( 44.4528 t )
	MaxBrakeForce ( 14.8206kn )
	MaxHandbrakeForce ( 18.8924kn )
	DerailRailForce (  111.132t )
	DerailBufferForce ( 432.8309kn )

	Friction (
		1630N/m/s   -0.22   5.2MPH   6.7N/m/s   1.66   
		5.1N/rad/s  1  -1rad/s  0  1
	)


the in-game value of mass() is the default of 10t.

Question: Does the parser expect any parameters to be located in any particular order... specific or relative or may they freely appear on any row of the .wag and/or include files?

#10 User is offline   JohnnyS 

  • Conductor
  • Group: Status: Active Member
  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: 05-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:OR/MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 11 July 2014 - 10:59 AM

You have a space between the mass figure and the 't', that maybe causing the problem.

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users