Elvas Tower: Number size in the Cabview - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 9 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Number size in the Cabview Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   elvasleis 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 236
  • Joined: 30-June 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dubbo
  • Country:

Posted 17 April 2014 - 11:31 AM

Hi,
I saw this method of reducing the size of Digital numbers in the Cabview.
At the bottom of this web page below is how to reduce the size of the numbers.

http://railtm.com/forum/6-380-2#11194

Yes it is in Russian but Google translate is my friend.

The change in the code is to change 480 to 1000.

public class CabViewDigitalRenderer : CabViewControlRenderer
{
const float FontScale = 10f / 480;


public class CabViewDigitalRenderer : CabViewControlRenderer
{
const float FontScale = 10f / 1000;

I think for me the result is how I like the number size.

I am still to try if I can make the numbers just a little larger.

Regards Geoff.

#2 User is offline   gpz 

  • Superintendant
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 1,772
  • Joined: 27-October 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest
  • Simulator:OpenRails
  • Country:

Posted 17 April 2014 - 09:57 PM

By a programmer's view, changing value 480 is dumb, since that number comes from the reference screen resolution 640x480. You might have said you see the digits in cabview nicer if you change the font size from 10 to 5, and the variable declaration would look like this:

const float FontScale = 5f / 480;

I admit the divider should go directly to the equation FontScale variable is used, and a better name for this variable would be FontSize instead. And the font sizes are really too big in cabview, even in default locomotives.

#3 User is offline   Csantucci 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 6,999
  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 17 April 2014 - 10:59 PM

I agree with Peter. I made tests on May 2013 and suggested in this forum to reduce default from size from 10 to 9.5 and to pass from Regular to Bold font style, as the best compromise I could find to approach what MSTS does.

Apparently elvasleis needs much smaller characters than those even MSTS allows. In fact having the possibility to define different fonts for different cabviews would be a welcome feature.

#4 User is offline   elvasleis 

  • Fireman
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 236
  • Joined: 30-June 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dubbo
  • Country:

Posted 17 April 2014 - 11:06 PM

Hi Peter,
Since I am a complete novice as far as being able to change the code in Open Rails I am pleased to have done it and have achieved the result I wanted.
I had to install Visual C# 2008 Express and follow the translated instructions from the railtm.com forum.
I have no understanding of the parameters or rules of the code.

I had thought that this was just to hard for me to do.

Your reply gives me some understanding of the changes I made.
I will try the change that you have said.

const float FontScale = 5f / 480;

Thanks and Regards Geoff.

#5 User is offline   markus_GE 

  • Executive Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 4,862
  • Joined: 07-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leoben, Styria, Austria, Europe
  • Simulator:ORTS / MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 18 April 2014 - 02:34 AM

View PostCsantucci, on 17 April 2014 - 10:59 PM, said:

I agree with Peter. I made tests on May 2013 and suggested in this forum to reduce default from size from 10 to 9.5 and to pass from Regular to Bold font style, as the best compromise I could find to approach what MSTS does.

Apparently elvasleis needs much smaller characters than those even MSTS allows. In fact having the possibility to define different fonts for different cabviews would be a welcome feature.


I know, I know, someone will now say, we have too many options already ;)

What about making the font.size user-adjustable, as a temporary solution? (-> Experimental Tab) I too feel, fonts are way too big, especially with some of the high resolution, wide angle photo.realistic cabs I use...

Cheers, Markus

#6 User is offline   Maximus 

  • Apprentice
  • Group: Status: Dispatcher
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 25-February 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS
  • Country:

Posted 18 April 2014 - 02:46 AM

Up to version 1587 the font size of the entry in the cvf was determined.
So everyone had the opportunity itself easily change the font size.
Unfortunately,it was then changed to the fixed size.

Maximus

#7 User is offline   roeter 

  • Vice President
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 2,424
  • Joined: 25-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:

Posted 18 April 2014 - 04:24 AM

This is the definition of any 'digital' item in the cabview (e.g. clock, speed etc.) :

Position ( 175 345 45 16 )

The first two values are the position of the field, the last two are the size (width and height).
As far as I can tell, these last values are now not used in OR - for a particual cabview, I changed 'height' from 16 to 8 - and nothing changed.
So could not either of these last two values be used as font scale values?
That's much better than an overall cabview fontsize, as fontsizes may differ per cabview or even may be different for items within a single cabview.

The only problem to work out is what present setting should relate to which font-size - and, not unlikely, presently these values might differ greatly between cabviews which actually require the same fontsize. That would make life a little more difficult.

Regards,
Rob Roeterdink

#8 User is online   R H Steele 

  • Executive Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 3,438
  • Joined: 14-March 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:known universe
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 18 April 2014 - 05:26 PM

View Postroeter, on 18 April 2014 - 04:24 AM, said:

That would make life a little more difficult.
Regards,
Rob Roeterdink


"I long ago come to the conclusion that all life is 6 to 5 against." Damon Runyon (in Collier's 8 September, 1934 'A Nice Price') :wacko:

#9 User is offline   ATW 

  • Engineer
  • Group: Status: Contributing Member
  • Posts: 638
  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Simulator:MSTS Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 18 April 2014 - 08:54 PM

ORTS back then in 0.7.0 had a font option I really liked and think an option should be made as an option and be back.

https://scontent-a-sjc.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash2/t31.0-8/473259_250144611759837_2014470133_o.jpg

#10 User is online   James Ross 

  • Open Rails Developer
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 5,490
  • Joined: 30-June 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 19 April 2014 - 06:19 AM

View Postroeter, on 18 April 2014 - 04:24 AM, said:

The first two values are the position of the field, the last two are the size (width and height).
As far as I can tell, these last values are now not used in OR - for a particual cabview, I changed 'height' from 16 to 8 - and nothing changed.
So could not either of these last two values be used as font scale values?


The values for height in particular are completely bogus on many stock and 3rd party locomotives - we did this before and it did not work very well.

  • 9 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users