Elvas Tower: ORTS Wish List 2012-11 - Elvas Tower

Jump to content

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

ORTS Wish List 2012-11

#11 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,035
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2012 - 02:14 PM

Hi Paul,

View Postpnrailway, on 16 November 2012 - 04:51 PM, said:

The real problem, even at its current location, is that if you save an activity and then exit the program, to come back later to continue the activity. When you resume the activity where you left off, there is one of the black bands on the screen and it doesn't go away. If you save again and exit, when you resume there is a second band, one added for each time you exit the sim and restart the activity from where you left off.

Believe I've fixed it in v1342 - many thanks for reporting it.

Please let me know if Resume still causes trouble.

Not looked at the message when you take a screenshot yet.

#12 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,035
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 24 November 2012 - 11:28 AM

Hi Paul,

View Postpnrailway, on 15 November 2012 - 07:11 PM, said:

2. Another appearance item. The thin band that appears when a screen shot is taken, is there any way that could be set much lower on the screen since it is necessary to crop it out of any screened screen shots and it still could be seen at as a half inch above the bottom of the screen.

I've gone back to a quote from Walter in the other thread:

"If you take multiple screen shots in quick succession as I quite often do, the strip(s) from the last shot are still there and therefore need to be cropped out - something that can be quite time consuming if you have taken a number of shots during a session."

and see that it is a rapid succession of screenshots that is the problem. The message after the first screenshot is still on the screen when you press PrtSc for the next screenshot.

I must be slow on the uptake - thought it was a synchronisation issue that happened only sometimes, but it's much simpler than that and always happens.

It wouldn't be a big deal for PrtSc to hide any messages before taking the screenshot and restore them afterwards. Just need to synchronise the threads correctly.

I'll look into it.

#13 User is offline   atsf37l 

  • Executive Vice President
  • Group: Status: First Class
  • Posts: 4,426
  • Joined: 25-February 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 24 November 2012 - 01:22 PM

I'm still hoping to be able to switch cabs without being coupled to the target loco.

And, OBTW, I get the 'saved' activity bands as well. XP-Pro SP3, CoreDuo E6600. :oldstry:

#14 User is online   pnrailway 

  • Superintendant
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 1,153
  • Joined: 23-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota, FL
  • Simulator:ORTS
  • Country:

Posted 24 November 2012 - 07:10 PM

Chris,

Just wanted to let you know that the latest version took care of the message band problem when restarting a save. That had become rather a nusence when running an activity and seeing message bands that just would not go away! :oldstry:

Now, if it was just possible to take the message band and have it near the bottom of the screen it would be great. Same with adding positioning controls to the #4 camera.

#15 User is offline   thegrindre 

  • Member, Board of Directors
  • Group: Status: Elite Member
  • Posts: 8,348
  • Joined: 10-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Now in central Arkansas
  • Simulator:MSTS & Trainz '04 & Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 25 November 2012 - 12:46 AM

I'll second that! Moving those message bands to the bottom of the screen would be a very nice improvement. =@

:oldstry:

:wallbash:

#16 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,035
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 25 November 2012 - 12:35 PM

View Postcjakeman, on 24 November 2012 - 11:28 AM, said:

It wouldn't be a big deal for PrtSc to hide any messages before taking the screenshot and restore them afterwards.

Just committed v1343 to hide any messages while a screenshot is being captured.

For those taking screenshots in rapid succession, you can now hold down the Prt Sc key and OR will capture screenshots as fast as your computer can manage.

#17 Inactive_deibid_*

  • Group: Status: Passengers (Obsolete)

Posted 28 November 2012 - 07:29 AM

Hi!, as this is the Wish List, nobody posted this and we are close to Christmas... let's wish... oh Distant Mountains... oh derailments and crashing on objects / other TRAINS!
And Christmas will be PERFECT! :sign_welcome: ;)

#18 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,035
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 28 November 2012 - 07:46 AM

View Postdeibid, on 28 November 2012 - 07:29 AM, said:

Hi!, as this is the Wish List . . .

Great to see lots of interest in new and interesting topics. We're keeping track so they don't get overlooked.

After a period of experimentation, we're pretty much focussed down now on completing v1.0 and fixing those bugs you guys report in.

I'm looking forward to post - v1.0, when we can add some wow features that MSTS could never attempt, but, for now, consolidation is the name of the game - OR is aiming to be rock-solid and high performance.

#19 User is offline   cjakeman 

  • Vice President
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Admin
  • Posts: 2,035
  • Joined: 03-May 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough, UK
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 28 November 2012 - 11:46 AM

Hi grindre,

View Postthegrindre, on 22 November 2012 - 10:06 PM, said:

My biggest wish is to have the mouse hit the monitor's edge to pan around anywhere on a route with the wheel used for zooming in and out, as most ever other game does.

Zooming with the mouse wheel came in on Oct 3rd (thanks Jijun). Guess you missed it :-)

Thanks for the panning request. I've made a note for post-v1.0.

#20 User is offline   Genma Saotome 

  • Owner and Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: ET Owner
  • Posts: 13,918
  • Joined: 11-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Simulator:Open Rails
  • Country:

Posted 28 November 2012 - 12:47 PM

View Postdeibid, on 28 November 2012 - 07:29 AM, said:

oh derailments and crashing on objects / other TRAINS!
And Christmas will be PERFECT! :sign_welcome: ;)


Not going to happen.

While I admit that in MSTS I do occasionally enjoy putting into practice the Gomez Adams method of dispatching, it is, by a considerable margin, a minority opinion in the OR team. Instead, the decision is to show respect to the well being of men and women who are in trains and not do crashes of any sorts. It also allows the programmers to spend their valuable, contributed skills on developing other more useful features.

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users