File Size
33.19MB (Estimated Download Times)
Views
Downloads
Support Topic
Click here to visit support topic
Blue Bird Mine
Cripple Creek Mining District

this is a typical small tunnel shaft mine as found all over the western region and in the Cripple Creek Mining district. These were simple horizontal shaft mines, often exploratory looking for good veins and ore. Many were dug by small groups of miners others were sponsored by established mining companies and led to expansion if the ore proved worthy of it. Most were served by small 24 inch track mine cars which carried out the ore and the waste rock. Blasting opened up the rock face and as the tunnel progressed it was shored up by timber members and beams.

I did extensive research into the mines of Colorado to create a series of mines and this small tunnel mine is a result of that work. It is not based on any one actual mine but rather on many that i studied in photographs and the historical record. It can be used for mining in just about every part of the world from the early 1900s to the mid 20th century.

You are welcome to repaint and alter this model as you wish and require, the TSM source file is included, and you may also convert it to other formats. I only request that it not be used for commercial use of any kind without my permission. It may certainly be included in low cost distribution packages and for special projects but please contact me for permission. I would also appreciate advance notice of any release of variations and a copy of the model so released.

No liability is offered or assumed, you use at your own risk. Historic figures are available to use with this model and variations are released with it of the car full of ore and in the dumping position.